How much did your rig cost? - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2007, 11:33 AM   #41 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,305
Default Re: How much did your rig cost?

I got mine from a college student who ran out of money. It originally had a 3200+, a 7800GTX, just an 80 gig drive, an Audigy 2ZX, and a nice set of Logitech 5.1 speakers. I have since upgraded the CPU and GFX, added a hard drive, sold the sound card and speakers.

I gave $1500 for it, sold the card/speakers for $150, swapped GFX for the CPU, bought the hard drive and new GFX. My total would be about $1500 - $150 + $55 + $200 = $1650.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 10-27-2007, 03:51 PM   #42 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 64
Send a message via Yahoo to Wog2000
Default Re: How much did your rig cost?

I paid around $4500 CAD. Buts thats for everything. Unable to do 3DMark06. Unsure ehy but I am thinking becuse of Vista 64-bit OS.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 G0|Thermalright ULTRA-120|Diamond HD 2900 XT 1GB GDDR4|4x2gig Ram|Vista Ultimate 64-bit|PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad (Red)|4x WD Caviar SE16 750GB SATA II|Sony NEC Optiarc SuperMulti SATA|Cooler Master Stacker 830 w/7-120mm case fans|Samsung 226BW|G15 Keyboard|Lachasis Mouse|Altec Lansing FX5051|TrippLite UPS
Wog2000 is offline  
Old 10-27-2007, 07:40 PM   #43 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: How much did your rig cost?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancec2c30 View Post
what monitor are you using?
Chimei 221D. That's how much it cost (in $AU) when I go it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
wow apok thats killer XD Just curious. What pump are you using? I was gonna grab 2 Laing DDC-3.2 for about the same price.. but tryin to fit 2 pumps is gonna be a pain XD can you recomment a better pump?
I use the Swiftech MCP655 (same as the Laing D5)
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-27-2007, 11:30 PM   #44 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: How much did your rig cost?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
I use the Swiftech MCP655 (same as the Laing D5)
oh ic this one? Petra's Tech Shop
would you recommend that over the other ones? I was gonna throw in 2 MCP355 but thats a lot of extra cash and room i could do without lol

the 655 has 4ft less Max head but its way over Double the dc3 in pressure PSI. i'm a bit shady on which ones more important XD
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 12:11 AM   #45 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default Re: How much did your rig cost?

rig in sig(yeah time for upgrade)
$240 including reused parts
$140 without the reused vc and ram
psu was free
Transerver is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 12:19 AM   #46 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: How much did your rig cost?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akubane View Post
oh ic this one? Petra's Tech Shop
would you recommend that over the other ones? I was gonna throw in 2 MCP355 but thats a lot of extra cash and room i could do without lol

the 655 has 4ft less Max head but its way over Double the dc3 in pressure PSI. i'm a bit shady on which ones more important XD
yes, that's it.
I'd say the most important thing is how many litres/hour (or gallons/hour) it can push
the MCP655 is way ahead in that area.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 12:28 AM   #47 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: How much did your rig cost?

07/26/2005 (Rig now Dead....my fault) from The Egg

SAPPHIRE 100600L-Red Radeon X800PRO 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail $254.00
PLEXTOR DVD Burner Black SATA Model PX-712SA/SW-BL - Retail $88.99
Skype VOIP Starter Pack - Retail $0.00
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 2.2GHz Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3500BPBOX - Retail $267.00
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWINX2048-3200PRO - Retail $282.91
Seagate Barracuda 7200.8 ST3300831AS 300GB 7200 RPM Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM $165.00
Shuttle SN25P AMD Socket 939 AMD Athlon 64 FX / Athlon 64 / Sempron NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra Barebone - Retail $364.00
Subtotal: $1,421.90
Shipping: $16.99
Amount Paid: $1,438.89
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 03:17 AM   #48 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: How much did your rig cost?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
yes, that's it.
I'd say the most important thing is how many litres/hour (or gallons/hour) it can push
the MCP655 is way ahead in that area.
ah rock on. thank a ton, saved me a Ton of cash too lmao. and some room ^^
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 07:29 PM   #49 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Re: How much did your rig cost?

400

Originally for 250:

Dell Dimension 4600i
Pentium 4 @ 2.66Ghz
256MB DDR PC2700 RAM
Geforce FX5200 128MB

Oh yes, when I got that machine it was quite the stuff. MY CPU was faster than most peoples. Then I remember playing LOTR:BFME online rather sluggishly and people recommending getting another 256MB "stick" for a *killer* 512MB. Some very crazy people even had 1GB! Phwoar.

But soon 1GB became standard and so I stuck a 512MB piece in. This 2x256mb + 1x512mb setup was strange and uncomfortable so i got another 512 for a 1GB dual channel which felt good but I didnt see my load times go that much faster..

Aha, then there was the Radeon 9700Pro that I bought from ebay. It was (after I had recieved it a month late) magnificent! Then 4 months down the line it went phut. I think the phrase rhymes with 'clucking bell'...

So for two months I lived off a Radeon 9250 that i bought off some Russian lady for 20 - it at least powered Operation Flashpoint alright - and then for the christmas of '05 I got my Geforce 6800XT.
Yes the 6800s were the thing then. I was quite proud to be up there with the other geeky lads.

Quite soon the 7 series took over though and since then I havent had any money to even upgrade slightly. Theres no point now anyway, I need an overhaul which will come next week.. or so I hope. Its all a bit iffy, i have to pretend im older than I am for a "buy now pay later" scheme or wait till February :/


Looking back at all those pointless and wasted purchases I made i think the total cost comes to over 500.

I love computers.
westy159 is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 07:45 PM   #50 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: How much did your rig cost?

699 base rig

24.99 for upgraded heatsink

129.99 for upgraded power supply

250ish for new video card (8800GT) ordering soon
__________________

Deadpixel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshooting my rig, pls help Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-04-2007 02:37 PM
Thinking of a new rig $1400 budget csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-25-2007 08:49 AM
Trading Old Rig for.. Demalii Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 6 09-23-2007 02:59 PM
Hard Drive Cost peterhuang913 Off Topic Discussion 22 08-12-2007 01:39 PM
Xbox repairs cost Vole more than a billion TheEnd187 Microsoft XBox 6 07-08-2007 08:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.