How much AS5 should be used on a processor? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2007, 09:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555
Default How much AS5 should be used on a processor?

I'm building my Asus S96J notebook today when I get home from school, and I was curious how much Arctic Silver 5 to use on the CPU and GPU.
I always heard to use as little as possible (which I did in my desktop CPU), but when I saw this website, , they used a ton on the CPU.
What do you guys think I should do for this?
I'm using a Core Duo T2400 processor.
Also, what rules apply for applying the AS5 to the X1600 GPU (the little black chip to the lower left of the CPU in the picture.
Thanks in advance.

sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 09:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 555

Here's a pic of both their CPU and GPU with their cooling compound:

sprtnbsblplya is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 09:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
b1gapl's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044

Most will say, the size of a little grain of rice.


b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 09:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 115

Yeah a small grain of rice. I then use a piece or plastic wrap over my finger to spread it around a bit in a circular motion so just a thin layer is on top, staying away from the edges to it doesn't run off the processor.
flyboychuckles is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 11:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956

i dont think that there is much more than a grain or so on that cpu, its just squashed on and cured i think.
it doesn't take much to cover the cpu when pressure is applied.
look at arctic silver website.
they say grain of rice size and don't spread it out. your hsf will do that when you seat it.
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 03:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475

Use enough to spread it around the CPU. I'm not sure how well the X1600 will mount since I only used it on the CPU (T5500). The stock pads are pretty thick.
turtile is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 03:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1

i lost mine yea about a grain, lets say how small a drop of water is, maybe a bit smaller.
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt

Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 04:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 421

In my opinion you don't need to spread it out, just let the pressure of the heatsink take care of stuff. My thermal compound was perfectly spread over the surface when I took the HSF off and checked.

A grain of rice is indeed a nice measure, it does not hurt to have a little more, but you must be able to see the cpu/gpu through the paste.
Phrantic is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 05:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
UA_Iron's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857

I think they updated their instructions for dual core processors.

A line down the center is the new instructions - it covers more area.

I find the best results when blobbing it on and making a thin layer by smoothing it out with a credit card. Be sure to try and rotate the heatsink per arctic 5's instructions though - it will fill in the interstitial spacings and inconsistencies due to machining, plus push out any air bubbles that might be present.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 01-19-2007, 05:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992

For AMD K8 CPU's, the Grain method works perfectly.

But for Core 2 Duos, I find that if I get a razor and spread it thinly across the IHS, it gives much better results then a grain.

For GPU's, do the same thing. Cover the whole thing and make sure it's as flat as possible. Same with south and north bridge if you are ever interested.


May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.