How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2016, 06:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

Why? That is the old model that got terrible marks by JGuru. The newer version is the same price and is actually good. Also, if you don't plan to go SLI or overclock you're getting way too much headroom for nothing.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 08:38 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 78
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Why? That is the old model that got terrible marks by JGuru. The newer version is the same price and is actually good. Also, if you don't plan to go SLI or overclock you're getting way too much headroom for nothing.
Can you post a link to the new version?

I'm choosing 750 watts in case I decide to use Sli or buy a K mobo to OC.
__________________

ruzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 08:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ruzzi View Post
Can you post a link to the new version?
It's linked on the page that you linked to. "A newer version of this item is available" which links here:
EVGA 120-G1-0750-XR 80 PLUS GOLD 750 W 10 yr Warranty Fully Modular NVIDIA SLI Ready and Crossfire Support Continuous Power Supply - Newegg.com

Quote:
I'm choosing 750 watts in case I decide to use Sli or buy a K mobo to OC.
You'll need to buy a new board in the future if you want to OC or get SLI, as the board you selected supports neither. You'd need to get a Z series board.

And like previously stated, you'd be fine with a lower wattage PSU for OC'ing.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 09:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 78
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Yeah that's what I had originally on my parts picker list. I posted the wrong link to the PSU. Your link is the right PSU.

Quote:
And like previously stated, you'd be fine with a lower wattage PSU for OC'ing.
I' m stuck now. You and other people say I need a 550 or 650 for my current build. But in the future, if I decide to either upgrade the GPU to a 980 or Titan, or buy a K to OC, I'd need more juice. I'm inclined to buy a 750 PSU.

But others also reported that they can get away with a 550 PSU on their OC'ed systems.

Like I said, I'm stuck on which to buy.

------ EDIT -------
What do you think of this PSU? Its 750 watts. But its $20 less than the EVGA I had on my list:

http://m.newegg.com/Product/index?it...82E16817328006
ruzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2016, 12:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

A GTX 980 takes half the watts of a Titan X or 980ti, and a 970 takes less than that. A Titan X is a 300W card and I paired it to a 955BE OCd which was probably pulling 200W itself and my OP Seasonic PSU in my tertiary PC handled it like a champ. If you read my article linked I talk about why this is possible after the long winded CPU bit. You have to understand that any Gold, Platinum, or Titanium rated PSU is rated for the wattage they can continuously provide. That's why my Seasonic was able to pump out 500W worth of power even without a fan to an unrecommended pair up (it was for testing for that other guy). Any **** PSU is rated at peak meaning they will pop if you pull that much power.

Any mainline Intel desktop class CPU will take less than 100W, and if you stick with high midrange chips (like 980, 970, 1080, 1070) they will all take less than 200W. Add these together and that's what you need because you can basically disregard the rest of the system as draw is minimal. If you OC a Skylake CPU under conventional cooling you won't pull more than 150W and the GPUs I mentioned above won't pull more than 225W OC'd. Basically unless you added a second card you could get away with even an M1211 Seasonic 520W PSU which is bronze rated, but for the same price you could get the eVGA.

That Deepcool is a meh PSU, would be better off with the eVGA, a Corsair, or Seasonic. JGuru gave the previous older model an 8.6 which isn't bad but the eVGA got a 9.7 lol. If you think you'll ever go dual card in the next couple of years I guess just get the eVGA. I preach lower wattage for single card systems but that's only because some people want a good machine but don't really go much further than that. If you really feel you'll get into it later then by all means that eVGA will probably last you 10 years worth of dual GPU systems.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I estimate how many watts my PSU should be? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 3 03-15-2009 04:17 AM
how many watts should i get robina_80 Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 06-01-2008 05:42 PM
how many watts will i need for this raiders_best New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-26-2006 04:36 PM
How many watts do i need? Curry Viking New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-11-2006 07:56 AM
How Many Watts (PSU) Do I Need 2 Run Radeon 9800 PRO? ag3 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 06-14-2004 10:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.