How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2016, 10:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 78
Default How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

Can you guys check out my gaming build and suggest how many watts I need for a power supply unit? I'm not sure if I need 550 or 750 watts. I won't be using Sli or crossfire cuz I'll just be using one video card. Here my build:

Intel Core i5-6500, MSI GeForce GTX 970, DIYPC P48-BK - Lighter Rig - xlook's Saved Part List - PCPartPicker
__________________

ruzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 11:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

You'll be fine with a quality brand 500w PSU.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 11:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 78
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
You'll be fine with a quality brand 500w PSU.
Really? I tried inputting my specs in Newegg's wattage site. It said I need 659 watts. Then on another site it tells me I need 350 watts. Very weird.
ruzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 11:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

I'm running the Desktop in my specs on a 520w PSU - OC'd CPU/GPU. If you get a quality you (such as SeaSonic, Corsair's higher-end stuff, EVGA or XFX's higher end stuff, etc.) then you'll be fine with a 550w PSU.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 11:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 78
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I'm running the Desktop in my specs on a 520w PSU - OC'd CPU/GPU. If you get a quality you (such as SeaSonic, Corsair's higher-end stuff, EVGA or XFX's higher end stuff, etc.) then you'll be fine with a 550w PSU.
Yeah so far I found an EVGA gold certified 750 watt PSU. I wont be OCing or running xfire or sli. That said, you're saying I can downgrade to a 550 watt PSUA and still be fine with my build?

So if I decide to buy a K mobo to OC or upgrade parts in the future, a 550 watt PSU should be sufficient?
ruzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 12:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ruzzi View Post
Yeah so far I found an EVGA gold certified 750 watt PSU. I wont be OCing or running xfire or sli. That said, you're saying I can downgrade to a 550 watt PSUA and still be fine with my build?

So if I decide to buy a K mobo to OC or upgrade parts in the future, a 550 watt PSU should be sufficient?
Yes.

I'm running a 4690k OC'd to 4.5Ghz + GTX 970 SC (factory-overclocked) off of my Corsair 520hx.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 12:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

I ran an overclocked 955BE (140TDP CPU) and an overclocked Titan X off a 520W Fanless Seasonic.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 12:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 78
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
Yes.

I'm running a 4690k OC'd to 4.5Ghz + GTX 970 SC (factory-overclocked) off of my Corsair 520hx.


Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I ran an overclocked 955BE (140TDP CPU) and an overclocked Titan X off a 520W Fanless Seasonic.
Thanks guys. I think I'll look into buying a 520W Fanless Seasonic then.
ruzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 09:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,315
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ruzzi View Post
Thanks guys. I think I'll look into buying a 520W Fanless Seasonic then.
I wouldn't recommend a fanless. This PSU is in a machine that is only on a couple hours out of the weekend which is why I went with the fanless.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2016, 03:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: usa
Posts: 78
Default Re: How Many Watts Do I Need for this Desktop?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
I wouldn't recommend a fanless. This PSU is in a machine that is only on a couple hours out of the weekend which is why I went with the fanless.
I actually changed my mind before you posted. I'm going to order this PSU:
http://m.newegg.com/Product/index?it...82E16817438006

Here's my final build:
http://pcpartpicker.com/user/xlook/saved/bgN323
__________________

ruzzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How can I estimate how many watts my PSU should be? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 3 03-15-2009 04:17 AM
how many watts should i get robina_80 Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 06-01-2008 05:42 PM
how many watts will i need for this raiders_best New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-26-2006 04:36 PM
How many watts do i need? Curry Viking New Systems | Building and Buying 4 08-11-2006 07:56 AM
How Many Watts (PSU) Do I Need 2 Run Radeon 9800 PRO? ag3 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 06-14-2004 10:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.