How many watts do i need? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2006, 06:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 68
Default How many watts do i need?

I'd like to know how many watts in a power supply should i be looking for to support these components:

Conroe E6600
2gb of ram
7800gt (upgrading to dx10 card in future)
3 x 200gb hard drives
Conore mobo (deciding between ASUS P5B-Deluxe or an MSI 975x Platinum Power Up Edition)
2 X 12cm fans
1 90cm fan
Soundcard (probably an audigy 4)
DVD ROM and DVD Writer

I was thinking maybe a 550watt psu, but i was looking at getting a
CoolerMaster iGreenPower 600watt

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817171011

Just to be safe in the future

Thanks in advance
__________________

Curry Viking is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 06:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 06:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp

I'd take a quick guess at 450, there abouts...but you'll get a lot of the more the merrier...but since you'll be shooting for 550 and above you should be fine.

Get the 80% + psus

^ hehe, same link
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 07:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103931
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 07:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

550W should be able to handle anything right now. Thanks for the link to showing how much wattage you would need for a build, it's really helpful. Oh and what does TDP mean with the CPU utilization?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.