How many amps will my 560ti GPU pull from my PSU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2012, 07:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default How many amps will my 560ti GPU pull from my PSU?

Hi everyone!

I recently purchased a new generic GTX 560 Ti from Geeks.com for $130. Not sure what brand name it is, but they included a Zotac install disc with it.

Trying to find out if a Ultra 600 Watt PSU will do the job.

I put everything together and it all works fine, but I have not done any gaming whatsoever.

I photographed some of the specs on the box because it did not seem to add up correctly.

Anyhow, will this Ultra LS 600 do the job for my new 560 Ti?

Please help me.

I have a other new PSU's but would like to use the Ultra if it will get the job done.

If it doesn't get the job done, which one of these would you recommend:

Corsair TX550M Enthusiast Modular
Corsair TX750M Enthusiast Modular

I am trying to save money on this build, but also need it to work well.

Here's the other new components:

Zalman 120 SSD $53
MSI 890FXA-GD 65 $44
AMD 965 BE $65
DVD Burner Free
Windows 8 free
MSI Raptor $15
Patriot 1600 DDR3 RAM 8GB $20
Ultra LS 600 $9
GTX 560Ti $130

Mailed in lots of rebates but the cost seems good.

Total: $337

Soar

PS Yes, my shoes do squeak when I walk...Attachment 5403
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Ultra 600 Watt.jpg (84.2 KB, 30 views)
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 08:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: How many amps will my 560ti GPU pull from my PSU?

560 is like 22A from what I read...
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 08:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: How many amps will my 560ti GPU pull from my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
560 is like 22A from what I read...
Thanks Patonb. Well, it appears kind of close if I am using two different rails rated at 22 amps and 23 amps? Will it work?

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: How many amps will my 560ti GPU pull from my PSU?

The minimum recommended PSU for the 560ti is 550w. You have enough combined 12v amps for this card and the rest of your system. I wouldn't OC your card though unless you decide to get a better PSU.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2012, 11:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: How many amps will my 560ti GPU pull from my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
The minimum recommended PSU for the 560ti is 550w. You have enough combined 12v amps for this card and the rest of your system. I wouldn't OC your card though unless you decide to get a better PSU.
PPMquire,

Thank you for replying to my post and answering my question.

Ok, I suppose I must install the Corsair TX550M Enthusiast Modular then?

I only paid about $35 for it, so it will cost me more, but better safe rather than sorry I suppose.

The only game I tried on this rig was the Windows 8 Pinball. Everything worked well, but I do not think that game is very CPU/GPU intensive...

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 12:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: How many amps will my 560ti GPU pull from my PSU?

No it isn't. I don't think it is necessary to install another PSU at this moment. If the Corsair is new I would take it back and get the 650w model.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 04:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: How many amps will my 560ti GPU pull from my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
No it isn't. I don't think it is necessary to install another PSU at this moment. If the Corsair is new I would take it back and get the 650w model.
Ok, I suppose I misunderstood you.

Since we last spoke, here is what i did:

I tested the system by playing Crysis, Delta Force, etc. Everything seems to work just fine.

I have not put these components in the case yet with all the fans [please see pic, with cobwebs and all].

Are you saying I will be ok with the Ultra LS 600 even after I install everything into a case with 3 case fans?

Soar
Attached Images
File Type: jpg AMD 965 Black Edition 2.jpg (96.3 KB, 22 views)
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 12:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: How many amps will my 560ti GPU pull from my PSU?

Since you have it like that put it under a full stress test. Throw 3dmark 11 at it and run under the Xtreme profile. Put your hand behind the PSU (where the air would come out of the back) and tell me how warm it gets. If it only gets a little warm you should be ok. I personally think you'll be fine.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 07:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: How many amps will my 560ti GPU pull from my PSU?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Since you have it like that put it under a full stress test. Throw 3dmark 11 at it and run under the Xtreme profile. Put your hand behind the PSU (where the air would come out of the back) and tell me how warm it gets. If it only gets a little warm you should be ok. I personally think you'll be fine.
Thanks again for caring and helping me out on this.

PP Mguire, will 3dmark 11 work on Windows 8 Consumers Review 64-bit?

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2012, 07:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: How many amps will my 560ti GPU pull from my PSU?

It should.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New GPU with PSU? cravingsleep System Upgrades 3 11-09-2011 11:47 AM
Ok GPU's and PSU's????? Sneblot New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-06-2008 05:13 PM
PSU for new GPU aaronkupen New Systems | Building and Buying 28 04-08-2006 02:12 PM
GPU and PSU's AuThoRitY Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 7 11-05-2005 09:51 PM
psu amps AND_YOU_ARE Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 11-23-2004 12:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.