How long should it take to transfer 40gb between 2 harddrives? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2007, 06:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default How long should it take to transfer 40gb between 2 harddrives?

I'm moving a bunch of files around so I can format and reinstall windows and its taking 30 minutes to transfer from 1 7200rpm ata100 hdd to another 7200rpm ata100 hdd. Is that normal?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: How long should it take to transfer 40gb between 2 harddrives?

40gb for 30 minutes seems normal to me
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: How long should it take to transfer 40gb between 2 harddrives?

makes sense.... if you had a 10k HD it'd be faster
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 06:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: How long should it take to transfer 40gb between 2 harddrives?

Ya that sounds about right. When i moved my rig into the 900 i finally pulled the 2 old 40gb drives and had to transfer all that over to my sata's and i think it took around 20-30m per drive.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 07:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: How long should it take to transfer 40gb between 2 harddrives?

How long would it take if I was transferring to the same drives but it was 4 drives paried in raid 0?

Just wondering because I'm gonna be raiding when I reinstall.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 07:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: How long should it take to transfer 40gb between 2 harddrives?

probably a couple of minutes shorter?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 08:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: How long should it take to transfer 40gb between 2 harddrives?

i would imagine maybe 25-40% increase in performance in RAID 0 than one drive but that is just a very big rough estimate.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 10:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 132
Default Re: How long should it take to transfer 40gb between 2 harddrives?

I just did 73 in one hour.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR
Gigabyte P-35 DS3R
Crucial Ballistic 4gb (4 X 1gb) 240 Pin DDR2 800
750 GB SATA-II Western Digital (2X) RAID-0 Stripe
EVGA 8800GTS 320MB
Lite On Black 20X DVD SATA
Corsair 520W Power Supply
Antec 900 Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Case
Tunic Tower 120 P4 & K8 CPU Cooler
Artic Silver 5 Thermal Compound
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate 64Bit Retail
Mouse Logitech Revised G5
Samsung 226BW Black 22" DVI WideScreen
ATI TV Wonder 650
Logitech Z-5300e Speaker System
MacDaddyGator is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 10:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: How long should it take to transfer 40gb between 2 harddrives?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dario03 View Post
How long would it take if I was transferring to the same drives but it was 4 drives paried in raid 0?

Just wondering because I'm gonna be raiding when I reinstall.
If you're going to be using so many drives I would recommend a RAID5!

That way you can have slightly increased performance as well as drive failure protection. It would really suck if you used RAID0 and one of the drives failed... and you lost 4 drives of data.

My next PC I hope to have a 5 drive RAID5... or maybe 6 drives!
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 10:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: How long should it take to transfer 40gb between 2 harddrives?

I meant having 2 different pairs of drives in raid 0 (2 drives each). I don't actually have that many same size drives drives now. I have 3 and am going to raid the 2 160gb drives that I have.

I was just wondering.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how long i can leave it on for? jamini.roy900 Laptops and Notebooks 3 09-07-2007 11:08 PM
need a a GOOD LONG lasting mouse!! Fayt19 New Systems | Building and Buying 34 07-02-2007 10:32 PM
file transfer Mentali$T Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 06-19-2007 01:26 PM
How long will TF be a mess? idiotec Off Topic Discussion 13 04-03-2007 10:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.