How long before my computer is too outdated? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2007, 11:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 105
Default Re: How long before my computer is too outdated?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobe24 View Post
dont slowly biuld a computer because ur parts will get old. its better to wait and get everything at once.
I agree... Dont go slow.. I wanted to do that..

I bought a case, PSU, Sound, & DVD-RW First..
Then blew the $1000 on the MOBO, RAM, CPU, & GPU
I am very happy..
__________________

__________________
[XGU] XTREME GAMERS UNITED
BattleField 2 Clan
Visit Us @ www.xtremegamersunited.com
Ventrilo @ 69.56.237.18:5157

Thermaltake Armor Jr.
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 - ASUS P5N32-E SLI
2Gigs OCZ DDR2 800Mhz Dual Channel - BFG 8800GTS OC2 320MB PCIe FTW~
Sound Blaster Audigy 4 - Thermaltake 850WATT PSU
Dell 19" LCD - Logitech G11 Keyboard
Logitech G7 Mouse - Logitech X-540 5.1 Speakers
Seagate 320Gb Sata Hard Drive - LG 18X DVD-RW Sata
Windows Vista Ultimate X64Bit - Qck+ Steel Mouse Pad
brodieman is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 12:48 AM   #12 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How long before my computer is too outdated?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apokalipse View Post
How long is a piece of string?
ah-so, grasshopper.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 09:19 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: How long before my computer is too outdated?

i would say a 8800 series since they will have propably dropped a bit by then thats really it. i believe crysis will be more gpu demanding then cpu demading. as long as ur e6300 is o/c u should be fine. also i think the rec. specs for bioshock are a 8800 series and a e6600 so u will be fine.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 09:31 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: How long before my computer is too outdated?

And i dont think your mobo supports pernyn. It may not be that much better than the core2duo anyway.

I would say your gpu is the weakest link... and the 8800gts is pretty good price for the performance you will gain.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 06-26-2007, 06:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: How long before my computer is too outdated?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobe24 View Post
dont slowly biuld a computer because ur parts will get old. its better to wait and get everything at once.
oh absolutely, but this cant be a choice for ppl who r tight in budget.

for example, i am still planning on getting an FX-60 off ebay when i get the money n what i really want is to get one of those Phenom FXs. Of course, then im gonna have to upgrade to 790 chipset mobo, get 4GB of DDR2 800 SDRAM just to change CPUs, which is what i want. I want my mobo to still have juice left in it because all games take advantage of dual-core now a days.

another example, my friend has an AMD Athlon 64 x2 4600+, 7900 GTX, n 4x512GB DDR 400 n can run any game, his latest being CnC3, n runs any game at max setting everything perfectly fine. He has not upgraded his computer for 3 years straight.

i want to get the FX-60 n the HD 2900 XTX.

OFF TOPIC:
i just found out that i cant replace my 6600 LE because i dont have my reciept anymore, plus the business place i got it called iGamez lasted only a year n one guy i know who worked there doesnt even like me. Did an RMA on evga.com, got approved, n now i dont think i can send my 6600 LE in.
__________________

__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Cant seem to fix this dang computer morrty Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 06-11-2007 11:09 PM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
Some upgrading / building new computer and counseling needed akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-21-2007 10:26 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.