how hot is your sandy bridge running? i think mine is running HOT at load - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2011, 03:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 22
Default how hot is your sandy bridge running? i think mine is running HOT at load

hello I bought an i7-2600 no (k) at stock speeds and the temperature seems a bit high.... i thought it would run at 15-20 no load and around 40 with load



i'm running defraggler and playing battlefield bad company 2 and its running at around 60 to 65 i'm wondering is that normal ? it seems a bit hot

maybe i'll try aftermarket heatsink? anyone have a good recommendation for one?

thanks
__________________

bvuong is offline  
Old 01-12-2011, 05:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default Re: how hot is your sandy bridge running? i think mine is running HOT at load

With a stock heatsink that is a tad high but then again I've seen 920s do 80 on stock. It should still be fine unless you overclock.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 01-12-2011, 06:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 22
Default Re: how hot is your sandy bridge running? i think mine is running HOT at load

i never looked too much into heatsinks

what would you recommend for the sandy bridges for cpu heatsink?
bvuong is offline  
Old 01-12-2011, 07:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 12
Default Re: how hot is your sandy bridge running? i think mine is running HOT at load

I usually stick to Noctua products. I own a few and they are all top notch. It's fairly expensive, but I believe Newegg.com - Noctua NH-D14 120mm & 140mm SSO CPU Cooler is one of, if not the highest rated cooler out right now and although it doesn't list it on Newegg I'm pretty sure it supports Sandy Bridge.
JustBecause is offline  
Old 01-12-2011, 10:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,301
Default Re: how hot is your sandy bridge running? i think mine is running HOT at load

It does but that cooler is over priced and to bulky for the 2c difference you may see from a TRUE or Mega.

I would suggest the TRUE 120 or Prolimatech Meglahems with a couple of Noctua fans for your needs. The Cooler Master V6 is also a nice heatsink from what I'm told.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Build Going With Sandy Bridge iamloco724 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-17-2011 06:01 PM
Sandy bridge reviews GoogleIntel New Technology and Products 43 01-10-2011 07:20 PM
i7 950 or Sandy Bridge i7 2600k ? new2IT New Systems | Building and Buying 6 12-22-2010 05:09 PM
How can I cool my GPU? Running 100*C load! Hookster264 Overclocking and Modding 8 03-08-2009 05:26 PM
My intel P4 3.0ghze is running at 53 degrees load. reznikvova Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 05-09-2005 07:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.