How hot is too hot for Q6600? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2007, 11:58 AM   #31 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

5GHZ. hahahahaha.

Do you think we'll see that? I heard they're having a hard time even getting to 4ghz because of mucho heat.
__________________

__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 02:54 PM   #32 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

it wont go to 5ghz they just have more cores like 256 cores instead of tryin to make cpu's to high clocks
__________________

__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 03:10 PM   #33 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 53
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

I tried installing coretemp, and everytime I loaded up the program, it restarted my computer.. so I just stick to Everest Ultimate / Speedfan.. they both match, so I assume they're correct.. especially being that Everest Ultimate you have to pay for(usually ) it better be accurate.

My BIOS generally put my CPU at like 38C, while speedfan/Everest have it at 40.. so it's really close, if not exact on.
IridetheShortBus is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 10:04 PM   #34 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by IridetheShortBus View Post
I tried installing coretemp, and everytime I loaded up the program, it restarted my computer.. so I just stick to Everest Ultimate / Speedfan.. they both match, so I assume they're correct.. especially being that Everest Ultimate you have to pay for(usually ) it better be accurate.

My BIOS generally put my CPU at like 38C, while speedfan/Everest have it at 40.. so it's really close, if not exact on.
core temp doesn't support pentium 3/4s and a couple other processors...it explitcitly states this during the intsall...so yeah maybe thats the reason
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 10:05 PM   #35 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Coretemp seems to be accurate for me while speedfan is the standard 15 degrees off.

B3 = 52ish idle
G0 = 40ish idle
glad i traded up
glad to hear I just got my g0 myself from clubit, ordered monday and got it wednesday!
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.