How hot is too hot for Q6600? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2007, 02:52 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Deadpixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 844
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
The Q6600? What are you talking about?
Talking about that CPU cooler, I linked everyone to on the first page
__________________

Deadpixel is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 08:10 AM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

mines at bout 38-40 idle (depending at level of fans)
bout 55 load this is at 3.2ghz andat 1.41v on 680i and with tuniq and as5
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 08:13 AM   #23 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

woops i mean 1.31v
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:09 AM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

Mine is idling around 50 and loading around 60 on stock cooling. B3 isnt fun.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:22 AM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

You want it to be in between 30-45 degrees. If it's over it's not that big of a deal but make sure it's not past 65 or so.
Pastasauce is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 10:33 AM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
xXDuskXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 220
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

g0 is teh pwn
__________________
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v401/Degeta/ra.jpg

the blood drive is a pyramid scheme perpetrated by dracula and his night slaves
xXDuskXx is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 08:53 PM   #27 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

Why is everyone recommending Everest and Speedfan? Isnt it a fact that their temperature monitors are incorrect compared to Coretemp? I remember reading in a review for sure that Speed fans temps were off by 10-15 Celcius, and Everest was giving me ridiculously low temperatures as well when i had my e6600 ( said my mobo was 25 celcius when the bios said it was 55 celcius ).
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 09:06 PM   #28 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

For some people, it's different. For me, Speedfan is inaccurate, but Everest is really accurate. CoreTemp matches, my Everest readings.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-14-2007, 09:18 PM   #29 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

For me core temp and speed fan match each other within a few degrees.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 11:28 AM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: How hot is too hot for Q6600?

Coretemp seems to be accurate for me while speedfan is the standard 15 degrees off.

B3 = 52ish idle
G0 = 40ish idle
glad i traded up
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.