How good is X-fi? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2006, 07:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15
Default How good is X-fi?

Is the Creative X-fi sound card really THAT good?!?!

How much of an improvement really is it?

I hear its great in Battlefield 2, that true?
__________________

braids11 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 08:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

I wouldnt spend $XXX amount of money on a sound card.
__________________

__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

me niether u goona need 100-200$ speakers to hear any diference and that the speakers making the diference.
efd753 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

Well, I love it and can definately hear a difference than through an old Audigy4.

However.... DO NOT get one if you have an nF4 chipset.... I just had to RMA mine back because they have to change the layout of some **** on it i guess.
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

The X-Fi is great if you have a nice set of speakers but even 40 dollar headphones you can hear the difference. It's great in battlefield because it supports EAX 5.0 and a lot more games will support it.

If you are getting an X-Fi like me get the Xtreme Music version because unless your like a DJ or working with music all the time the other versions are a waste of money.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Like others have said, it all depends on both your output ability (speakers/headphones/etc) and your personal ability to tell the difference.

Personally, I don't think I'd ever spend more than $100 on a sound card, unless I was going to use it for dedicated sound sampling and editing. If I was just playing games with it, ****, a 4 year old card would do.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 04:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

why won't this work with an nF4 chipset?
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 05:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Alex81388
Well, I love it and can definately hear a difference than through an old Audigy4.

However.... DO NOT get one if you have an nF4 chipset.... I just had to RMA mine back because they have to change the layout of some **** on it i guess.
that was only for the older ones. the newer ones all have an updated firmware and work great on nf4. my fatal1ty does.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 05:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 66
Default

I just returned my X-Fi. It works great in games, off loads the CPU nicely. Zero linux support, music with guitars sound distorted if the 24.bit crystalizer is on. So if I turn the 24.bit crystalizer off, I'm basically making it sound like my onboard audio. I don't play games that much, I'm in SUSE more than I play games. So for me it wasn't worth it...
__________________
Asus Board
AMD X2 4400
2GB OCZ Platinum
I-RAM 4GB
Raptor 150GB
Caviar 320GB SATA2
Asus 7800GTX
SUSE 10.0 64Bit-WindowsXP x64-Vista 5270 64Bit
Jason S is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 06:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by infiltrator7
why won't this work with an nF4 chipset?
It does work on the nF4 Chipset don't worry. The sound is godly!
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.