how ghz do these to have - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2006, 02:41 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

but their actual performance is measured by their P-rating (2600+, 2800+ etc)
in short, they complete instructions in less clock cycles than a Pentium 4 would
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 03:45 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Talking "I REBUUUUUUKE!!!!..."

Quote:
Originally posted by solid102
YES!!!!!!!!!!IN THE NAME OF THE LORD I DEMAND A COHERENT POST!!!
LOL
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 03:52 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

yeah like apokalipse said...don't go by the Ghz because a 2.0Ghz AMD is like a 3.5-4.0 Ghz Intel Pentium 4.

Basically...AMD's cpu's are faster but run at a lower Ghz, therefore...look at the name (ie a X2 3800 runs at 2.0ghz but the single core 3800 runs at 2.2ghz) well i think that's right.

i don't know much about those processors so they might be off in the naming by todays standards since they're a little older.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 03:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

btw i wouldn't recommend a sempron...if you're buying a cpu and mobo go w/ a socket 939 and get a AMD 64 3000+ or something.

it'd be probably around $100-120 all together if you get a cheap mobo

otherwise try and get one of the Athlons preferably w/ a newer socket because the cpu would probably be better anyways.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 12:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

wow id never think that a sempron 2600 was that weak any way thnx to u all that help
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 12:55 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default

So why are you looking at such ancient processors anyway?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 01:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

yeah semprons are like the celerons of Intel...basically they're bad Athlons that they gave a different name and sold for cheaper since they've got less performance. (celerons are bad pentuims given a different name too).

that's the reason i wouldn't suggest one if you were wondering.
__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 08:37 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

What's wrong with a socket A sempron? What're we doing with the system? These machines are highly capapble and overzelous for people doing nothing but internet and office applications.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 09:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

um, maybe becasue this is the high performance fourm, so naturally in here were gonna sugest high(er) standerds than the general pc upgrading fourm. i have nothing personal against the socket a, and 754, but you can get way more preformance for less buck with a 939(higher fsb, faster processors), and also hes just looking, but yea if ur building, we'll help ya(personally id say a biostar mobo, amd am2 atlon x2 4400+, xfx geforce 7600gt, 2 250gb wd's in raid 0, watercooling)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 09:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 647
Default

yeah i guess you're right and he'd probably not need anything better since he's looking at old cpu's. if he wanted the cpu for something else he'd probably look for something new.

but it'd still suggest the other two...that's my input. though the semperon would be fine if all you're using is internet and word processing type stuff. otherwise invest in something newer and faster like a socket 939 Athlon 64 cpu.
__________________

__________________
Antec NeoPower 650W
Gigabyte EP45-DS3R
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (w/ Arctic Freezer 7)
4GB DDR2-1000 G.Skill
Sapphire x1950 Pro 512mb (w/ V700)
250GB, 500GB and 1.5TB Seagate Barracudas (2.25TB total)
Fatal1ty XtremeGamer sound card *** generic TV tuner
Xclio 3060 case *** HannsG 22" monitor
XP Pro / Ubuntu 7.10 *** Razer Copperhead and Tarantula
jordo_99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.