how futureproof are psu/cases? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2006, 07:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default how futureproof are psu/cases?

wondering if I will need a better psu or a different type of case in the next year...
__________________

rabblerouser is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 07:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

yeah you goona need a super XFTYUOP Case to house the New motherboard form factor WTF!


The style of case that you, having around for years man.

Unless u going to hook up 8 HDs 400-500 watt should be enough.
__________________

efd753 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 07:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

than that IS the whole atx btx case thing?
rabblerouser is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 08:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

What kind of case do you have now? And what do you plan on getting?

A case should (like efd753 said) last awhile unless you want too load it up with tons of extra equipment. And psus are the same way, some are better built and therefor will last longer.

The computer industry is changing so fast though, you never know.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 09:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

thinking about this one
rabblerouser is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 04:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

Will the antec truepower II 550 watt or whatever be good enough for the new stuff coming out, though? vista, conroe, all that good stuff.
rabblerouser is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 04:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

thats a good case needs plenty of cleaning mind. But its BTX compatible just in case and very sturdy.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 05:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Default

how hard is it to clean? just blow airduster in there and wipe it and stuff?
rabblerouser is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 05:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

pretty much i use a vacuum for the front and blow air from inside.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.