How to fix my 5.1 surround speacker to work with my computer? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2006, 08:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Default How to fix my 5.1 surround speacker to work with my computer?

Helllo guys, i bought a new 5.1 surround speakers( Logitech X550) and it got 5 speakers, 1 woofer. But when i wan to listen some music, there are only 3 speakers and the woofer is working, another 2 speakers is no working as well. Can i ask that how can i fix it ? My motherboard ( Asus P5P800) show that it can support 5.1 surround speakers, but wat happened to my speakers that not working ? I'm usiong a build-in sound card( Creative). Can anyone help me to fix this problem ? Otherwise it will waste my money to buy a surround speakers. pls!
__________________

SpringNite is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 09:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

does it need a special driver to run 5.1 surround sound ??? otherwise dont know why it would do that are they connected right....?
__________________

__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 09:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I had the same problem as well. Try using the software that came with your mobo to test your 5.1. You should have some kind of software that acts as a sound manager.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

your probably only USING 2.1 sound files. Try some games with dolby digital 5.1. if you want movies and mp3 to utilize all 5 speakers you need a physical splitter or a software splitter (have not found a free one). but i had the same problem with my x-530s. I was ****ed until i realized it was just my computer not sending sound to them.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Default

I don know i plug wrong or not, i plug the black plugin into the blue and the green plugin into the green plugins, and there are anothere orange plugins that i don have plugins. coz another holes is for mic. am i wrong ?
SpringNite is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 10:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to BillGates
Default

Music is made to be listened to in 2.1. I have 5.1 surround but switch it to 2.1 on purpose while listening to music. When you are at a concert is the band all around you or just in front of you?
BillGates is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

so can you get the music to play out of 5.1 w/o a physical splitter "billgates"? if so tell me! i love music all around me.
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 12:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Go to Wal Mart and pick up a Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit for $25. That way, you can have more control over your audio settings and 5.1 will always work when you want it to.
Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 01:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 172
Send a message via AIM to BillGates
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sw1tCh[FX]
Go to Wal Mart and pick up a Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit for $25. That way, you can have more control over your audio settings and 5.1 will always work when you want it to.
Exactly what he said above me, Im using a similar card and running RCA's from it to a Sony reciever/amplifier.
BillGates is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 02:40 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 112
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SpringNite
i don have plugins. coz another holes is for mic. am i wrong ?
thats your prob, i had the same thing.

black goes in blue
green goes in green
oarnge in mic

then in the control panel find the icon that allows you to change the mic in, to "center/sud speaker out. (mines called realtek, not the sounds and audio icon)
thats what i did and it works fine, but i thought my onboard sound was screwed up for like a week
__________________

BRreed is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.