how dusty does the Antec 900 get? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2008, 04:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default how dusty does the Antec 900 get?

I was thinking of getting an Antec 900 case for my first gaming rig. I like all the fans and also want a case without a front hinged door. The only issue is the fact that it doesn't come with dust filters( i think this is correct). So basically is this case really bad when it comes to dust gathering in it? How often do you need to vacuum this thing.
__________________

Joeyboy is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canterbury, UK
Posts: 174
Default Re: how dusty does the Antec 900 get?

It doesn't get too dusty inside the actual case, but a lot of dust can build up on the front grille and the side grille. It's easy to wipe away and instead of vacuuming it, use a can of compressed air. Very useful it is too!

OR you could always upgrade and get the Antec 1200, which comes with dust filters.
__________________

__________________
Whoever appeals to the law against his fellow man is either a fool or a coward. Whoever cannot take care of himself without that law is both. For a wounded man shall say to his assailant, "If I Die, You are forgiven. If I Live, I will kill you." Such is the Rule of Honor.

Antec 1200 Case
Core i7 2.8 Ghz
6GB Corsair RAM
Nvidia GTX 285
22" Monitor
Direland is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 06:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: how dusty does the Antec 900 get?

lol

900= 70

1200=122

dont think so
Joeyboy is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 06:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: how dusty does the Antec 900 get?

The Antec 300 has a air filter on the front.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 06:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: how dusty does the Antec 900 get?

i think i will go with the 900, i'll just check inside the case everynow and then, can you see if there's a dust build up just by looking through the side window. Also is the Antec 900 a MIDI tower? As in would it fit on a desk ok?
Joeyboy is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 07:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Bake a Pretty Cake!
 
Spit-wad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 904
Default Re: how dusty does the Antec 900 get?

Like he said, the 900 really doesn't get too much dust inside the case, but the front really gets a lot of dust, which can just be wiped off with a paper towel. It can fit on a desk, but it is big... it's a pretty large mid case.
Spit-wad is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 07:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: how dusty does the Antec 900 get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spit-wad View Post
Like he said, the 900 really doesn't get too much dust inside the case, but the front really gets a lot of dust, which can just be wiped off with a paper towel. It can fit on a desk, but it is big... it's a pretty large mid case.
That it is... I used to think it was a Full Tower when it first came out..

But dust filters usually fix stuff like this... (I really should get some for my case.. haha)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 07:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canterbury, UK
Posts: 174
Default Re: how dusty does the Antec 900 get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeyboy View Post
lol

900= 70

1200=122

dont think so
Ahh but for that extra...52 you get dust filters and quite a bit of extra space, plus extra cooling. Those three reasons are why I'll be upgrading soon.

When I first bought my 900 it was around the same price as the 1200 is now.
__________________
Whoever appeals to the law against his fellow man is either a fool or a coward. Whoever cannot take care of himself without that law is both. For a wounded man shall say to his assailant, "If I Die, You are forgiven. If I Live, I will kill you." Such is the Rule of Honor.

Antec 1200 Case
Core i7 2.8 Ghz
6GB Corsair RAM
Nvidia GTX 285
22" Monitor
Direland is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 07:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: how dusty does the Antec 900 get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
The Antec 300 has a air filter on the front.
The 900 lacks any filters! I run the 900 here and readily agree on seeing dust build up fast on the front grills for the twin 120mm fans as well as the side opening where I added another 120 blue led fan there. The 200mm top fan will see dust build up as well as the rear and front fans on the fan blades themselves.

For cleaning first use a baby wipe or better yet one of those antistatic wipes you throw into a clothes dryer along with your laundry to wipe the dust off of the blades themselves. Then proceed to blast the loose dust and go along the memory as well as PCI-E and PCI slots with the thin tube that comes with a can of air cleaner. That will blast the loose dust as well as free up any other buildup seen right out of the case.

Remember that you only get short bursts when using a can of cleaner since the can will freeze up fast. As a rule however the fan grills and blades are the worst offender for seeing dust buildup on those.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 07:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: how dusty does the Antec 900 get?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeyboy View Post
how dusty does the Antec 900 get?
Very! depends upon how dusty your environment is, of course, but I have two 'bounce' tumble dryer sheets, and a thick layer of packing foam over the front because it was getting so dusty. Its a good case, but turn back the clock with hindsight, I would buy something else. Its a bit 'rad' looking as well.

The cooling is great, though.
__________________

Andyf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Antec 900 fan settings Squirtis Overclocking and Modding 10 08-14-2008 07:11 PM
Antec 900 Water cool mod nOcLuE98 Overclocking and Modding 25 03-16-2008 08:14 PM
antec 900 question MonkeyBusiness Overclocking and Modding 6 12-28-2007 01:18 AM
antec 900 case fans MonkeyBusiness Overclocking and Modding 12 12-26-2007 12:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.