How does one setup RAID - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2007, 06:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
TY, May I have another?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 628
Default How does one setup RAID

Hi, I'm noobi I just read the wiki article on RAID but I couldn't find out how to setup a RAID, I don't own any extra hardrives yet so this is not of utter importance, just wondering if anyone knows like a tutorial website for for to setup RAID
__________________

__________________
Intel e6750 @ 3.2ghz
4GB Gskill HZ's @ 1066, 5-5-5-14
XFX GTX 260
EVGA 680i
Lian Li Pc-A05
TRUE Black Edition, lapped to almost mirror finish.
SHaTTaFaKKaP is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 08:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: How does one setup RAID

on Vista or XP, it'll tell you to insert a floppy drive or removable drive to install the drivers, but first go to ur BIOS and set it in RAID, then install, it on your system (it'll ask you what you want) and it'll install
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 08:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: How does one setup RAID

That's very vague vernong.

Here are the basic steps:

1. Make the RAID driver diskette, by putting the RAID drivers on a floppy disk.
2. Install the hard drives needed for the RAID level you are going to do.
3. Go into the RAID setup menu via BIOS.
4. Set the RAID level you want.
5. Set CD as first boot priority, save settings, and reboot.
6. Insert the Windows CD.
7. At the blue screen, look at the bottom for a message, saying to install any third party RAID drivers. Press F6.
8. Follow instructions on installing the RAID drivers.
9. Then just continue on, installing Windows as usual.

It may vary between different motherboards, but those are the very basic steps on how to setup RAID.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 08:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: How does one setup RAID

lol now that i reread it... it does seem vague.. i guess i need to organize my thoughts and what I type better... but ur install guide is better...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 08:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: How does one setup RAID

whatre the different types of raid? i mean, i know there is raid 0, 1, 5???? and probably others, but i dont know what they mean/do. can anyone explain all the different types pls?
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 08:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: How does one setup RAID

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riznarf View Post
whatre the different types of raid? i mean, i know there is raid 0, 1, 5???? and probably others, but i dont know what they mean/do. can anyone explain all the different types pls?
It's all answered right here:
AC&NC - RAID.edu - RAID Tutorial & Benchmarking Tools
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 08:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: How does one setup RAID

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riznarf View Post
whatre the different types of raid? i mean, i know there is raid 0, 1, 5???? and probably others, but i dont know what they mean/do. can anyone explain all the different types pls?
off the top of my head:

common ones: 5, 1, 0, 0+1

not common ones: 10, 3, 4 ( i think theres a RAID 50) but b1gapl.. i think ur link is broken... or my PC is timing out on the site load...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 12:09 AM   #8 (permalink)
TY, May I have another?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Posts: 628
Default Re: How does one setup RAID

Hey thanks guys
__________________
Intel e6750 @ 3.2ghz
4GB Gskill HZ's @ 1066, 5-5-5-14
XFX GTX 260
EVGA 680i
Lian Li Pc-A05
TRUE Black Edition, lapped to almost mirror finish.
SHaTTaFaKKaP is offline  
Old 08-31-2007, 12:13 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: How does one setup RAID

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
That's very vague vernong.

Here are the basic steps:

1. Make the RAID driver diskette, by putting the RAID drivers on a floppy disk.
2. Install the hard drives needed for the RAID level you are going to do.
3. Go into the RAID setup menu via BIOS.
4. Set the RAID level you want.
5. Set CD as first boot priority, save settings, and reboot.
6. Insert the Windows CD.
7. At the blue screen, look at the bottom for a message, saying to install any third party RAID drivers. Press F6.
8. Follow instructions on installing the RAID drivers.
9. Then just continue on, installing Windows as usual.

It may vary between different motherboards, but those are the very basic steps on how to setup RAID.
sweet i'll have to remember this when i install XP. i think evga gave me a floppy for the drivers.
__________________

mgcook is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-RAID Guide veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 07-20-2007 11:26 PM
Where to go next? (upgrading advice) ril New Systems | Building and Buying 9 07-12-2007 04:16 PM
Raid Setup jungleland New Systems | Building and Buying 28 05-26-2007 11:52 AM
Comprehensive RAID performance report Osiris New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-06-2007 09:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.