how does my amd compare against intels? also ram question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2007, 07:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 119
Default how does my amd compare against intels? also ram question

hi guys.

back when i brought my processor, amd was the way to go for gaming, and intel was not really to be considered. so i brought an AMD Athlon x2 4800, the cores at 2.4ghz standard. but nowadays it seems that intel is owning the gaming market. i havent been 'keeping up with the times', so i dont know whats what about these intel processors.

can anyone tell me what intel processor is the rough equivalent of my processor?

also, why is it that ddr ram is so much more expensive than ddr2? am i correct in saying that ddr2 is better??

thanks in advance,

hazza
__________________

hazza is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 08:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: how does my amd compare against intels? also ram question

I think E4400 or E6320 are equivalent to your processor

However, your processor is still good. If you want to upgrade then I recommend Q6600 (when the prices drop on July 22)
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 09:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: how does my amd compare against intels? also ram question

I take it thats an am2 chip??? atm there is a divide in cpu choice:

Intel for the last year have been the kings with there C2D line and have virtually wiped amd out from low to high end systems with the E2x00 line at the low end and the e6xx0 line at the higher end. Idirect comparison to your chip I would say is a e6320 at stock but the E6320 can over clock quite a bit further. Intel is a safe bet

AMD are fighting back with there upcoming K10 series which will begin hitting the market next month and the whole series will be complete by october time. It is about 20 new chips so they take time to filter through the reviews. The new desktop chips are going to use new motherboards with the AM2+ to differentiate them. The socket is exactly the same you can use AM2+ chips in AM2 boards and AM2 chips in AM2+ boards. The difference is that the new chips suppor new technology which allows for the faster speeds and better memory and power management. By using an AM2+ chip in a non AM2+ board it will run marginally better then a comparable current AM2 chip. AM2+ would be a gamle as it isn't currently released it could be upto the official claims that it is 40% faster then the Intel chips or it could e a flop.

Hopefully I haven't confused you too much lol. If I were you I would take the gamble higher reward in the end if the claims are true, you can also reuse your current cpu in your AM2+ board until you are ready to upgrade to a new AM2+ chip. Intel would be the safe bet but low reward in the end if AMD do win the market, You will also have to replace a new motherboard and cpu at the same time which might tighten your purse strings a bit.

DDR is no longer in the same scale of mass production as DDR2. DDR is a dying standard it is outdated by several years now and so production has been reduced. With the reduction in production the price per unit has increased as the prices can no longer be subsidised, per example ddr2 they make 10pence profit on every chip produced and they make 10,000 cards and sell them all, DDR they make 2,000 because that is all that they will be able to sell to make the same profits they need to place an extra 50p per unit produced. This transfers down to the consumer
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 10:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 119
Default Re: how does my amd compare against intels? also ram question

thanks guys for the info, especially saltynay! im happy that i brought the mobo that i did, as it has both agp + pci-e, 939cpu socket, and a pci type card that is espacially for AM2+ chips.

so i can upgrade when i get money!!

another question about ram:

is it only my motherboard stopping me from using ddr2? i know that my board can only use ddr, with 184 pins (i think thats the amount of pins), so the processor can use ddr2 yeah??

if so, i will soon be getting a new mobo!

thanks in advance,

hazza
hazza is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 11:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: how does my amd compare against intels? also ram question

what motherboard do you have?
this is a nice one
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 12:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: how does my amd compare against intels? also ram question

Quote:
Originally Posted by hazza View Post
thanks guys for the info, especially saltynay! im happy that i brought the mobo that i did, as it has both agp + pci-e, 939cpu socket, and a pci type card that is espacially for AM2+ chips.

so i can upgrade when i get money!!

another question about ram:

is it only my motherboard stopping me from using ddr2? i know that my board can only use ddr, with 184 pins (i think thats the amount of pins), so the processor can use ddr2 yeah??

if so, i will soon be getting a new mobo!

thanks in advance,

hazza
Sorry if I lead you in the wrong direction you have a 939 socket cpu that cpu isn't compatible with AM2 or AM2+ boards it is a different standard. I doubt you have an AM2+ pci card as far as I know there are only 2 motherboards that currently support the new AMD cpu's and although they are cheap they are rare as AMD hasn't officially confirmed the dates of the later cpu's. You will have to upgrade the motherboard and cpu at the same time and If you are using ddr ram yo will have to buy new RAM aswell. AMD will still be slightly cheaper even if you do buy a complete set
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 12:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: how does my amd compare against intels? also ram question

^^invisible, he has an amd system^^
i dont think you will be able to use an am2 chip in an am2+ mobo, but you will be able to use an am2+ chip in an am2 mobo. i could be wrong.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 12:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: how does my amd compare against intels? also ram question

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
Sorry if I lead you in the wrong direction you have a 939 socket cpu that cpu isn't compatible with AM2 or AM2+ boards it is a different standard. I doubt you have an AM2+ pci card as far as I know there are only 2 motherboards that currently support the new AMD cpu's and although they are cheap they are rare as AMD hasn't officially confirmed the dates of the later cpu's. You will have to upgrade the motherboard and cpu at the same time and If you are using ddr ram yo will have to buy new RAM aswell. AMD will still be slightly cheaper even if you do buy a complete set
hes right.... u need a mobo upgrade.... but newegg doesnt have the biostar tforce560 (only mobo that i know supports AM2+)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 12:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: how does my amd compare against intels? also ram question

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
^^invisible, he has an amd system^^
i dont think you will be able to use an am2 chip in an am2+ mobo, but you will be able to use an am2+ chip in an am2 mobo. i could be wrong.
you can do it both ways some motherboards will need an update though
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 02:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 119
Default Re: how does my amd compare against intels? also ram question

i have this mobo : ASRock Motherboard - Product - 939Dual-VSTA - Overview

"1 x Future CPU Port (Supports CPU upgrade from AMD Socket 939 CPU to Socket AM2 CPU through AM2CPU Board)"

thats what i meant. it has a slot above the graphics card slot, where a separate board ("AM2CPU Board") can go in, onto which a am2 cpu can be used.
__________________

hazza is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo Question Indobos New Systems | Building and Buying 9 06-28-2007 11:45 PM
Quadcore question. xarcos Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 06-18-2007 11:30 PM
Ram OC question zetahammy Overclocking and Modding 0 06-16-2007 01:18 AM
Intel's "V8" Octo-Core system.. b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-31-2007 12:11 AM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.