How does this look - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2006, 09:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default How does this look

First off I'm new to the forums and I would like to say hi. Now time to get to my question. I am looking for a gaming computer for around $600. I went to Ibuypower.com and build my own computer with a little help from a friend. I am wondering how will this setup work. If you haveany suggestions please tell me.

Case: Raidmax 268 ATX Mid-Tower Case w/350W Power Supply

Power supply: NZXT PF-500 500 Watt Power Supply

Processor: AMD® Athlon-64 3800+ CPU w/ Hyper Transport Technology

Processor cooling: Certified CPU Fan and Heatsink

Motherboard: eVGA nForce-4 SLI Chipset Dual DDR w/7.1 Sound, Gb LAN, S-ATA Raid, USB 2.0, Dual PCI-E MB

Memory: 512MB DDR-400 PC3200 Memory Module

Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7600gs 256mb w/ dvi+tv out video

Harddrive: 200 GB HARD DRIVE [Serial-ATA-II, 3Gb, 7200 RPM, 8M Cache]

CD/ DVD drive: 16X Dual Format/Double Layer DVD±R/±RW + CD-R/RW Drive

That all together is about $610 and the games i will be playing are CSS and NFS: carbon. I will also be using this computer to edit videos
__________________

skam is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 09:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Add another 512mb ram...
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 09:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Default

Yeah definitly add another 512mb of ram in dual channel, and I would recommend the x2 3800+ as it doesn't cost much more.
Vampire_Slayer is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 09:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I'll probably end up buying it after i get the the computer
skam is offline  
Old 10-03-2006, 10:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

Yea you will need more ram
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.