How do you update bios? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2008, 08:00 PM   #31 (permalink)
nOcLuE98's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: How do you update bios?

you have to extract the file, then make sure it is a .BIN file. it cant be on your jump drive as a .rar or it wont be recognized as a bios file

nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 08:40 PM   #32 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: How do you update bios?

yeah can't be compressed on the floppy. I tried to do that the first time but wouldnt read it.


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 11:49 AM   #33 (permalink)
I feel funny...
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Originally Posted by atomic tofu View Post
you can always do recovery...but again, I am only going by knowledge of my hardware...i have no clue what other board makers do

intel gives me a floppy and cd bios recovery option
floppy does not need to be bootable

so if i funk up my system, i have the backup handy, do a jumper thing...insert disc....and it will recover itself
once bios is corrupted, its corrupted. You can buy new bios chips though and replace them.

Originally Posted by plumber4578 View Post
If something gets messed up can you reset or clear back to your original BIOS? Should I unclock my CPU first?
No overclocking to be on the safe side. I revert back to stock settings w/ alittle extra vcore to the cpu just incase like .02 (
1.325 stock and set it to 1.350 for MY cpu). Better safe than sorry.
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-10-2008, 06:53 PM   #34 (permalink)
Lord Techie
ricanflow's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: How do you update bios?

I flashed my bios from within windows just fine. As long as you dont do something stupid, you should be ok.
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)

P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx

ricanflow is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 05:40 PM   #35 (permalink)
Super Techie
plumber4578's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: How do you update bios?

finally done. I extracted the file onto my floppy and did a dios flash. worked pretty smoothly once I figured out what i was doing wrong. When I extracted the files it was a .ROM file. The Bios flash reconized the file and it was updated within a couple of minutes. Thanks for everyones help and input.
My puter:
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 02-12-2008, 06:24 PM   #36 (permalink)
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Originally Posted by atomic tofu View Post
ppl should flash all the time...if they release a hardware update, it's for a reason.
it has to do with % of variability...they release it so it's more stable. Let's say there's an algorthmic error present in a mobo...sure you don't need to update if you don't care for it, but logically you should

example pdf you can read for my mobo:

just adds stability, so I do it

Flashing the bios is just like downloading updates for your graphic card, performance may not increase but stability or compatability definately will. Like that one guy said modern day flashing is pretty idiot proof unless a power outage happens
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 02-13-2008, 06:59 AM   #37 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Originally Posted by thirdshiftdj View Post
once bios is corrupted, its corrupted. You can buy new bios chips though and replace them.
are you saying that you believe all products to be the same? Because they aren't . My intel mobo can be corrupted with a bad bios update and it will recover if I have the alternate methods.

I messed up on updating the firmware on my samsung dvdr....but redid it successfully, using the win app.

not all products are the same, and all SHOULD have such fail safe ways to restore...there is no technical reason or law, that if a bios is corrupted and unusable, that it can't be rectified, without buying a bios chip. Such measures are only used by companies that don't have their act together.

love intel

atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New eVGA 8800GT BIOS update maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-16-2008 11:51 AM
Possible to update Bios without Floppy? aetherh4cker Microsoft Windows and Software 5 01-09-2008 07:03 PM
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 10:39 PM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 02:15 PM
update bios rebell07 Overclocking and Modding 2 08-29-2007 01:09 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.