How do you update bios? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2008, 09:20 AM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Black.Ice. Send a message via MSN to Black.Ice.
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Quote:
Originally Posted by atomic tofu View Post
ppl should flash all the time...if they release a hardware update, it's for a reason.
it has to do with % of variability...they release it so it's more stable. Let's say there's an algorthmic error present in a mobo...sure you don't need to update if you don't care for it, but logically you should

example pdf you can read for my mobo:
http://downloadmirror.intel.com/1434...leaseNotes.pdf

just adds stability, so I do it
That's not always true. Many mobos only release an update to provide compatibility for a new CPU, like someone said earlier. They're not always upgrades that will increase your performance.

For example, I have an ASUS AMD mobo and there's been a couple of Bios updates since Xmas because of the new Phenoms. I looked in their release notes and it only says updates compatability for newer processors.

But then again, it varies from manufacturer to manufacturer.

"If it ain't broke, don't fix it."
__________________

Black.Ice. is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 09:59 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: How do you update bios?

not performance, stability, different....
hehe
but that's why I posted a link to the readme for mine...you can simply read the one's for XXX and see what it does. If X doesn't do anything for you, you don't need it...but I like that mine is all about stability and compatibility

intel rocks!
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:00 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: How do you update bios?

If something gets messed up can you reset or clear back to your original BIOS? Should I unclock my CPU first?
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:10 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: How do you update bios?

you can always do recovery...but again, I am only going by knowledge of my hardware...i have no clue what other board makers do

intel gives me a floppy and cd bios recovery option
floppy does not need to be bootable

so if i funk up my system, i have the backup handy, do a jumper thing...insert disc....and it will recover itself
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:54 PM   #25 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 55
Send a message via AIM to Black.Ice. Send a message via MSN to Black.Ice.
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Judging from your sig, Im guessing you have a ASUS mobo.

ASUS has a tool called Bios Recovery. If you funk up your flashing, boot from the ASUS CD included w/ the mobo. It should give you a recover option back to OEM bios. Good Luck.
Black.Ice. is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:57 PM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 2,215
Send a message via MSN to Akubane
Default Re: How do you update bios?

I've flashed in windows multiple times. About the only thing that can mess it up is a power outage or a persons own stupidity XD (i.e. kicking the off button or triping over your power cord or hitting cancel)

I wanted to do it the old floppy way but my BIOS wouldn't fit on a conventional floppy lol too much work doing it on cd and didnt feel like buying a thumb/usb drive just to flash the bios.

bios updates can add lots of fun stuff. hardware compatability, increased overclocking ability possibly, increased stability..

but the safest way is the old fashioned way: BIOS Flashing, What is BIOS or CMOS flashing?
read that, love it, have its children.

but like i said flashing in windows only fails if the user is a tool or if one of the gods deem you unworthy and cut the power. Or you use the asus EZflash. lol
__________________


C2D E8400 | Diamond 4870 X2 | Biostar Tpower I45 | 4GB G.Skill PK
Corsair 750TX | Xigmatek HDT-S1283 | CM Haf 932
2x Seagate 1TB 7200.11 | Asus Xonar D2X | LT Z-5500's
Razer Lycosa | Razer Lachesis | LG L245WP-BN 24" MVA LCD
Akubane is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 06:35 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: How do you update bios?

ok. I tried ASUS EZ BIOS flash 2(built into the BIOS). I downloaded the file on a flash drive. when into my bios to do it; fallowing instructions in my mobo manual. didn't work. I tried saving the file on a floppy. It diid't work. It's like it didn't reconize the file being there.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 07:31 PM   #28 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: How do you update bios?

On my Mobo I do the following

1. Download bios and put it on floppy
2. insert floopy in drive
3. reboot and hit Alt.+F2 during post...this will bring up EZ flash 2 program in bios
4. Enter bios program...go to tools menu to select EZ Flash 2...press enter to enable it.
5.you can awitch between drives by hitting tab...find floppy drive where file is....press enter
6. when the correct file is found...EZ Flash 2 performs the bios update and automattically reboots the system with the new bios.

I hope this helps.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 07:33 PM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: How do you update bios?

yeah i was in the EZ flash but in wouldn't rconize anything on my floppy drive. Do I have to make it bootable or reformat with a different file type or something? The file that I downloaded onto the drive was a zip file.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 07:42 PM   #30 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: How do you update bios?

I believe the floppy needs to be formatted in FAT 32.....then it should work.
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New eVGA 8800GT BIOS update maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-16-2008 12:51 PM
Possible to update Bios without Floppy? aetherh4cker Microsoft Windows and Software 5 01-09-2008 08:03 PM
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 11:39 PM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM
update bios rebell07 Overclocking and Modding 2 08-29-2007 02:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.