How do you update bios? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2008, 07:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: How do you update bios?

I used Easy-Flash....from my Bios and just pointed it to my floppy drive, where my new bios file was, and the flash went smoothly.
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 08:07 PM   #12 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Hmmm I have a secondary question if I reformat all my hard drives do I have to update my BIOS again? ( I already did )
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 08:21 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
Hmmm I have a secondary question if I reformat all my hard drives do I have to update my BIOS again? ( I already did )
No,you don't need to flash your bios to reformat.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 08:27 PM   #14 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlwind View Post
No,you don't need to flash your bios to reformat.
or after you do
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 08:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: How do you update bios?

i was gonna update BIOS, but idk what the whole flash thing was though. Dont flash update BIOS unless necessary? Of course it's necessary, it's an update!!

i downloaded the files to do it but when i opened it, it didnt do anything. Like someone just said, i have to do it through BIOS.

what is going to happen once i flash the BIOS? Why so cautious?
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 09:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
mgcook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,723
Send a message via AIM to mgcook
Default Re: How do you update bios?

download the .iso file..burn it as an image to a CD..

set the motherboard to boot from teh CD drive and follow the directions they give you.
mgcook is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 09:22 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildside View Post
i was gonna update BIOS, but idk what the whole flash thing was though. Dont flash update BIOS unless necessary? Of course it's necessary, it's an update!!

i downloaded the files to do it but when i opened it, it didnt do anything. Like someone just said, i have to do it through BIOS.

what is going to happen once i flash the BIOS? Why so cautious?

If it goes bad you can screw up your mobo!
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 10:57 PM   #18 (permalink)
Hellfire!
 
Wildside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 3,038
Send a message via MSN to Wildside
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgcook View Post
download the .iso file..burn it as an image to a CD..

set the motherboard to boot from teh CD drive and follow the directions they give you.
well should it be a good idea to flash BIOS? I mean, everything is cool here for me, but when i get a Phenom 9950 or whatever, i would have to be worried.

ill favorite this thread until i get a Phenom around Juneish.
__________________
--Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
--AMD Ryzen 1700x @ 3.4GHz w/ MX-4 and Corsair Hydro 100i Liquid Cooler
--Corsair LPX Vengeance Black 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3200 DRAM
--EVGA GeForce GTX 960 SuperSC ACX 2.0+ 2GB GDDR5
--ASUS Crosshair IV Hero AM4 X370 Motherboard
--WD BLACK SERIES WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
--SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE250BW 2.5" 250GB SATA 6Gb/s SSD
--Corsair Obsidian 750D Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
--Corsair Professional Series 860-Watt AX860
Wildside is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 08:38 AM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Dont flash unless you NEED to flash.

Sometimes the manufacturer will make a new bios so you can use a newer cpu on your mobo....so if you would like to use that new cpu...then you MUST flash your bios.

Don't just flash for no good reason.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 02-09-2008, 09:10 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: How do you update bios?

ppl should flash all the time...if they release a hardware update, it's for a reason.
it has to do with % of variability...they release it so it's more stable. Let's say there's an algorthmic error present in a mobo...sure you don't need to update if you don't care for it, but logically you should

example pdf you can read for my mobo:
http://downloadmirror.intel.com/1434...leaseNotes.pdf

just adds stability, so I do it
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New eVGA 8800GT BIOS update maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-16-2008 12:51 PM
Possible to update Bios without Floppy? aetherh4cker Microsoft Windows and Software 5 01-09-2008 08:03 PM
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 11:39 PM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM
update bios rebell07 Overclocking and Modding 2 08-29-2007 02:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.