How do you update bios? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2008, 05:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default How do you update bios?

I never updated a bios because I never had to. I have an ASUS mobo and saw that one of the updates (not the lastest) resolves the issue with computer temps when coming out of S3 mode. I have that problem. there is a file to download but i figured it isn't a regular .exe file. Do I have to unclock my puter? what are the steps?
__________________

__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 05:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
WarrenX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 197
Default Re: How do you update bios?

you have asus, go in ur bios and look for something called "tools" in their u should see a utility called "EZ Flash", use that, look online how to do it and be careful! Only update if necessary.

Oh btw u need a .bin file to perfom a bios, put that on a removable media and then restart u computer and keep pressing Alt-F4

GL AND READ INFO ON FLASHING b4 u DO!!!!
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter
14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
WarrenX is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 05:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
WarrenX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 197
Default Re: How do you update bios?

go to ur manufacturers website, download the bios, extract it into a file, and then have it execute (in this case the isntallation further extracts the bin file) the files by changing the drive from A: to C:/whatever folder. Once you have the bin file simply copy that to watever media and follow the steps above.
__________________
R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter
14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
WarrenX is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 05:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: How do you update bios?

dude don't use ez flash.I repeat DON'T! You never want to flash within windows. Unless you want a paperweight motherboard. I'll send you a link how to flash w/ usb thumbdrives. I've done it many of times and its pretty safe
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 05:35 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
plumber4578's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hanover, PA
Posts: 391
Send a message via AIM to plumber4578 Send a message via MSN to plumber4578
Default Re: How do you update bios?

now i am really scared! I dont' really have any of asus tools for updating becuse i am running vista 64. I guess I really don't need to update. I wanted to use S3 mode but didn't like it becuse my temps were through the roof when it resumed and m puter seemed to lag and needed to reboot. So I stopped using it. I just wanted to save some energy.
__________________
My puter:
MOBO - ASUS P5W DH DELUXE
CPU - INTEL Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz
VIDEO - EVGA 8800 GTX
MEM - 4 GB (1BGX4) G.SKILL PC2 6400
PSU - CORSAIR 620WATT
HD - 2 SAMSUNG 500GB 7200 RPM
OS - Windows Vista 64Bit
plumber4578 is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 05:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Don't do it if you don't have to


Edit:
Heres the stuff just in case
HP Drive Key Boot Utility. I'll make your thumb drive bootable w/ bootdisk files which is also linked in that same page
HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool - v2.1.8 Download - EXTREME Overclocking


Here is a link that shows you how to do it.
How To Create a Bootable USB Thumb Drive - Electronics Nexus
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 05:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Quote:
Originally Posted by plumber4578 View Post
now i am really scared!
Thats good, I think. BIOS flashing is something that should never be taken lightly, so fear is likely to ensure you research the subject fully before doing it. As long as you do it properly and well, everything should be OK. I just think there is a tenancy for people to think its as easy and safe as installing new drivers- it isn't and should be done with care.

EZflash is, I believe the BIOS based programme (don't trust me! check!), not the windows one, and therefore should be OK. I would certainly not use a programme that will flash from within an OS, or one that will automatically download. Go to the Asus website Carefully check which bios you want for your board, read up online about that bios, and put it on a USB key. You can then flash from within your BIOS.

Just make sure you do the research and you should be fine.

As people said, it might not be worth taking the risk, just because you want the 'latest version'. Only do it if there is actually something that you need! (e.g. 45nm compatibility)

Its not an overwhelming risk, it'll be fine if you do it with care and research, its just that generally people are not scared enough, hence the slightly overly careful posts that everyone has made.
Andyf is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 06:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: How do you update bios?

I always hear ppl say don't flash within windows...but I do it all the time

I flash my asus laptop with their windows based utility
I flash my dvdburner with it's windows utility (in vista)
and I flash my mobo with intel's windows utility (in vista)

technology is good
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 06:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biohazardous
 
nOcLuE98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: How do you update bios?

Just go in teh BIOS tools, and the board it self has a BIOS update tool. Put the bin file on a jump drive, and it will find it if it is plugged in. becareful and do your research, but it isnt hard.
__________________
http://www.conquestgraphics.com
nOcLuE98 is offline  
Old 02-08-2008, 07:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: How do you update bios?

I'm not flashing while tons of other processes are running. Too scary, too many horror stories.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New eVGA 8800GT BIOS update maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 01-16-2008 12:51 PM
Possible to update Bios without Floppy? aetherh4cker Microsoft Windows and Software 5 01-09-2008 08:03 PM
Update BIOS on older Compaq PC tonyisnt Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-23-2007 11:39 PM
Best way to update BIOS? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 03:15 PM
update bios rebell07 Overclocking and Modding 2 08-29-2007 02:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.