How do you select the right power supply? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2006, 01:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default How do you select the right power supply?

What power supply would you suggest for this set-up?

1 Thermaltake SHARK VA7000BWA Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail $169.00

1 DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail $199.00

1 eVGA 256-P2-N518 Geforce 7800GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail $379.00

1 AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ Manchester 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Dual Core Processor Model - Retail $322.00

1 CORSAIR ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System Memory Model VS1GBKIT400 - Retail $76.25

1 Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD2500KS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 300 MB/s Hard Drive -OEM $107.00

1 ViewSonic VA1912wb Black 19" 8ms LCD Widescreen Monitor - Retail $325.99

1 NEC Black IDE/ATAPI DVD Burner Model ND-3550A -OEM $39.75
__________________

sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 01:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default UPDATE!!

Update...not Corsair....OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Platinum System
__________________

sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 01:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

ocz above 500 or antec above 500
__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 01:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Check out this linky. Its a thread off of dfis forum with their recommended psus. I got the OCZ powerstream 520W which is the one they recommended as the best all around psu and i havent had any troubles so far.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 09:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

http://www.pcpowercooling.com/produc...lies/selector/
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 09:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

How do you select the right power supply?

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...3&pagenumber=1
Section 4

or

AIM= OCCSte
MSN= supergamtim@hotmail.net
Ste is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 06:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

what about a OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Platinum System
or a
CORSAIR XMS 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200) Unbuffered Dual Channel Kit System...are 2-packs good or not because ive heard bad things about them
__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 06:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

2-packs are perfectly ok, and for the psu, please refer to the psu selector link in my previous post.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 06:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
Default

I have the same motherboard and would suggest you look at the DFI forums. It's a touchy board and needs TLC and some help from the experts. They also list known PSU's that work with the NF4 boards:
http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/
I tried a Enermax 620 watt and it wouldn't work and backed it down to their 535 watt model (forums said it would work) and it did! The DFI Guy's are knowledgable, but stick to their rules if you post...
__________________
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR Expert
AMD Opteron 185
OCZ Platinum 2GB(2 X 1GB) 3 3 2 8
EVGA 7900 GTX
OCZ Powerstream 600 Watt
LiteOn DVD Burner 16X w/Lightscribe
2-74GB Raptors (RAID)
WD 150GB Raptor
Mitsumi 1.44 Floppy
ATI TV Wonder Elite
Thermaltake Tai-Chi W/Built-in H2O (GPU & Chipset)
CoolIT Systems Freezone CPU Cooler
caveman4810 is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 06:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by caveman4810
I have the same motherboard and would suggest you look at the DFI forums. It's a touchy board and needs TLC and some help from the experts. They also list known PSU's that work with the NF4 boards:
http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/
I tried a Enermax 620 watt and it wouldn't work and backed it down to their 535 watt model (forums said it would work) and it did! The DFI Guy's are knowledgable, but stick to their rules if you post...
thanks alot...im registered under sw_freak64 if ur ever on...thanks again
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.