How do you find strong LED lights? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2008, 07:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default How do you find strong LED lights?

So I went to radio shack and got one that said:

5 volt, 30mA, 300 mcd

I supposed it was bright because it costed almost 4 dollars, as compared to the other 1 dollar LEDS. It also had more voltage.

So the thing is, I am going to return this, now What should I look for, to get the brightest LED?
The more voltage the brighter?
the move mA the brighter?
the more mcd the brighter?
and so on.
__________________

__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 08:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: How do you find strong LED lights?

The higher the mcd rating, the brighter the light.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 08-07-2008, 08:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: How do you find strong LED lights?

Thank you so much.

So thats all I need to care for? everything else is irrelevant?

Can you tell me what those things stand for?
__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 08-08-2008, 11:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: How do you find strong LED lights?

^one word...."wiki"
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-09-2008, 02:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Re: How do you find strong LED lights?

weird. So I went to frys today and I got one that had 10000 Cmd lol I was like what the heck? I though the highest was 2200

well who cares, its bright enough.

Can you guys read my computer hardware troubleshooting problem please?
"Why won;t my pc boot?" I just need quick replys to as to what I am doing wrong.
__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 08-10-2008, 08:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: How do you find strong LED lights?

i bought a 3000mcd once wen i modded my hp mouse, chnage the light to blue, those things are bright! worked like a charm.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Led Lights When In standBy kurtowns Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2008 02:18 PM
new build cant find where power switch plugs into the Mobo? nastsystems System Upgrades 17 03-16-2008 06:33 PM
help me find a keyboard Goose New Systems | Building and Buying 15 03-03-2008 01:09 AM
help me find it cheaper robina_80 Off Topic Discussion 5 01-04-2008 07:25 PM
Change Power led from green to blue? Computerfreak14 Overclocking and Modding 10 11-18-2007 06:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.