How do I "prepare" my system for a new GTS 250? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2009, 06:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Question How do I "prepare" my system for a new GTS 250?

Hi everyone!

I just scored a great deal on a couple of new Galaxy GTS 250's. I am currently running a nice 9600 GSO. Can someone here help me to understand the best way to uninstall the old card/drivers and install this new card?

I remember someone recommending a process where I start in safe mode, run a VGA driver cleaner, and do some other steps as well.

I can't remember exactly how to do it.

Can you help me please?

Thanks,

Soar
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 06:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: How do I "prepare" my system for a new GTS 250?

Someone one correct me if I am wrong but here are the steps:

1. Download the driver but do not install
2. Restart in safe mode
3. Uninstall the old video drivers through the device manager
4. Still in safe mode, run a driver cleaner program like Driver Sweeper
5. Restart in safe mode and install the new video driver
6. Restart
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 07:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: How do I "prepare" my system for a new GTS 250?

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
Someone one correct me if I am wrong but here are the steps:

1. Download the driver but do not install
2. Restart in safe mode
3. Uninstall the old video drivers through the device manager
4. Still in safe mode, run a driver cleaner program like Driver Sweeper
5. Restart in safe mode and install the new video driver
6. Restart

that's pretty much it. But I've also heard ( and I don't always do it either) that you shouldn't run a driver cleaner every time..unless you have issues or it's a real messy uninstall/install.
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 07:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: How do I "prepare" my system for a new GTS 250?

Quote:
Originally Posted by memory View Post
Someone one correct me if I am wrong but here are the steps:

1. Download the driver but do not install
2. Restart in safe mode
3. Uninstall the old video drivers through the device manager
4. Still in safe mode, run a driver cleaner program like Driver Sweeper
5. Restart in safe mode and install the new video driver
6. Restart
Thanks Memory,

I will give it a try!

Oh, how do I start in safe mode on Windows 7?

Soar
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 07:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: How do I "prepare" my system for a new GTS 250?

Quote:
Originally Posted by soarwitheagles View Post
Thanks Memory,

I will give it a try!

Oh, how do I start in safe mode on Windows 7?

Soar
should be listed on the splash screen where it shows you what button for bios..

I think it's F8 though
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 07:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: How do I "prepare" my system for a new GTS 250?

Not sure with Windows 7 but usually you have to hit f8, f2, or delete during startup.

Looks like Wafflehammer beat me to it.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 07:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Default Re: How do I "prepare" my system for a new GTS 250?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflehammer View Post
should be listed on the splash screen where it shows you what button for bios..

I think it's F8 though
Thanks Waffle!
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 07:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: How do I "prepare" my system for a new GTS 250?

I don't know about you guys but I've never used a driver sweeper and have always been fine. I think you should be fine without one unless, like waffle said, you get an iffy install then just restart the process with step 4.
__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 12-04-2009, 07:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI, USA
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via MSN to yzmxer608
Default Re: How do I "prepare" my system for a new GTS 250?

I always use a driver cleaner program. If you haven't formatted in a while the old driver files can build up and take away some usable space. Not a whole lot but it's there.
__________________

__________________
yzmxer608 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please analyze my logs myr707 HijackThis Logs (finished) 6 06-23-2009 12:29 AM
Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT 1gb (overclocked) vs Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS 250 512MB SparksN8 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-16-2009 12:07 PM
Nvidia's GeForce GTS 250 Nukem Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 58 03-12-2009 09:56 PM
Problems with Windows 2003 server trans Viruses, Spyware and Malware 23 03-03-2009 11:24 PM
new computer overheating jokka37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-23-2008 02:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.