How do I make my comp into a Crysis machine? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2008, 12:25 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: How do I make my comp into a Crysis machine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RombieFitch View Post
Here's my comp:

1. GA-P35-DS3R (rev. 1.0)
2. CORSAIR XMS2 4GB (4 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) 4-4-4-12
3. CPU E6750 2.66Mhz 1300 FSB
4. XFX Nvidia Geforce 7600 GT 256MB
5. Samsung 22" LCD Monitor Syncmaster T220
6. 160MB HD Western Digital WD1600AAJS

I run Windows Vista Ulitimate x64.. I would like to run crysis on high mode but can not. My budget is pretty low. Would changing the video card be enough? If I have to save up some money I could wait, just need some ideas from you Crysis gamers.
... GPU definitely...

Check out the Geforce 9800GX2 or GTX 260 because Crysis loves nVidia cards and rips AMD cards...

PCI-e x16 and 2.0 are backwards compatible FYI
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 12:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: How do I make my comp into a Crysis machine?

w/ my gfx i run it on high at 1680x1050 and get a solid 30FPS sometimes it will dip to 25 but never seen it lower.
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 02:20 AM   #13 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: How do I make my comp into a Crysis machine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
PCI-e x16 and 2.0 are backwards compatible FYI
I was just about to say that when for like 10 posts after his no one posted an answer to one of his actual questions.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 02:44 AM   #14 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How do I make my comp into a Crysis machine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
I was just about to say that when for like 10 posts after his no one posted an answer to one of his actual questions.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
i answered both of his actual questions.

Quote:
my bad, i thought you posted a p45-ds3r. you can get a gtx 260 for about 250ish and it will work in any pcie16 slot, doesnt have to be 2.0
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 08:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: How do I make my comp into a Crysis machine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by csaefong View Post
I say go for a 4870 u will be able to play crysis no prob on high settings oh but does your PSU have 2 pci-e to power the 4870?
I an Ultra 500w psu...
RombieFitch is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 09:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: How do I make my comp into a Crysis machine?

yeah that's enough for a 4870 and it will let you play Crysis on high !
__________________
Alienware Full Tower Aurora Case
ABIT AV8 1.5 SOCKET 939 K8 MB
Amd X2 4800 socket 939
CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
2x 500gb Seagate Barracuda 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s (running at 1.5 Gb/s)
Radeonģ X1950PRO AGP Xtreme Gamer Edition AGP x8
Logitech Z-5500 Digital
Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels
VIGOR GAMING CLT-M2A 92mm Thermal Electric CPU Cooler
SeaSonic M12 SS-700HM ATX12V (700 watts)
Logitech G15
LG Flatron Wide 24in
Razer Copperhead Green (First Edition)
AHS 615 Gaming Headset
Windows Vitsa Ultamite (running at 32-bit)
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 09-28-2008, 11:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: How do I make my comp into a Crysis machine?

crysis warhead seems to run significantly better also, but yeah you prob wanna stick with a nvidia card, if you can pick up a cheap gx2 that would be good otherwise a gtx 260 core 216 ill do
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-29-2008, 12:43 AM   #18 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: How do I make my comp into a Crysis machine?

the gx2 performs on par if not better than the gtx280 in crysis... the 9800gx2 would be your best bet... and on evga's bstock you can have one for 200 bucks.... why the **** not>?
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vista machine is SLOW, need help shortstop20 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 09-11-2008 09:06 PM
Is this possible? Combining dual booting and virtual machine aetherh4cker Linux and Open Source 4 09-10-2008 02:02 AM
10 Ways To Make Linux Boot Faster Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 08-04-2008 09:36 AM
Make an AVI Smaller sir nerdalot Computer Audio and Multimedia 14 05-31-2007 08:27 AM
Nero 6 to make VCD sir nerdalot Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 05-21-2007 04:42 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.