How do i know if my GPU OC is stabe?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2008, 08:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default How do i know if my GPU OC is stabe??

So i OC my 4870 up to Core clock at 849mhz and memory clock at 1000mhz how do i found out if its stable?
__________________

__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 08:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: How do i know if my GPU OC is stabe??

ATiTool artifact test...3DMark06 run...playing a game?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 08:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: How do i know if my GPU OC is stabe??

ati tool aritifact scan. it found that my 9800gtx does not go any higher stable than 860mhz. it is a very good program.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 09:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: How do i know if my GPU OC is stabe??

How long should you run a artifact checker for???
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 09:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: How do i know if my GPU OC is stabe??

Okay i got the ati artifact and i started scanning how long should i run it for its got the GPU load at 99pct.Temp is at 65-66C got the fan cranked up to 51pct speed so about 3400RPM.
__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 09:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: How do i know if my GPU OC is stabe??

15-20 minutes is usually good enough for ATiTool I believe. It pushes your card to the absolute max and keeps it there...more than an actual game will.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 12-11-2008, 10:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Tech-Forums
Posts: 305
Send a message via AIM to csaefong
Default Re: How do i know if my GPU OC is stabe??

It like shutdown after 12mins it didn't report any errors though.
__________________

__________________
MOBO: Asus P5E x38
CPU: Q6600 g0 OC to 3.2ghz stable
Video Card: Visiontek 4870
Ram: G.Skill 2x2GB Kit PC6400 800mhz
HDD: Segate Barracuda 500GB
PSU: PC Power&Cooling 610Watt
Case: CM 690 Case
Monitor: Samsung 22in 2MS and Asus 22in 2MS
Heatsink:Tuniq Tower Heatsink
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


csaefong is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chad's Garage Sell! psu, gpu, case, mobo, Chad711 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 12-01-2008 09:01 PM
Folding@Home NVIDIA GPU Client Confirmed maroon1 New Technology and Products 2 05-26-2008 11:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.