How do I hook up power for my new e-GeForce 8500GT? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2008, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,104
Question How do I hook up power for my new e-GeForce 8500GT?

Hi everyone!

I just built a new system and I am not sure how to fire up this new video card.

You can see my system in my signature.

I have lots of free wires coming from my 600W PSU.

Well, here are you questions:

1. Is there much of a difference when I apply power to the video card?
2. How exactly do I hook up power to this video card?

It's me,

Soar
__________________

__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 09-26-2008, 08:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: How do I hook up power for my new e-GeForce 8500GT?

i think it only requires a 6pin power cable, in which case use a six pin cable to connect to the cards...well six pin plug.

It is not difficult.

Also, since you have a non-modular psu, there will be a lot of extra cables, just route them behind things for you can't see them.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 09-26-2008, 10:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: How do I hook up power for my new e-GeForce 8500GT?

8500gt should not require a power plug, it should draw power from the PCIE slot
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 09-26-2008, 10:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: How do I hook up power for my new e-GeForce 8500GT?

Why did u buy a 8500GT, i almost threw up when i read it.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 01:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: How do I hook up power for my new e-GeForce 8500GT?

WoW i didnt know newegg still had those. but the 8500gt requires no extra power. just plug it in to the pci-x slot and off you go. 8500gt's arent too bad. the one i had would overclock like a beast. i hit like 675mhz core on that thing
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 07:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: How do I hook up power for my new e-GeForce 8500GT?

Yeah and just for note, i installed a 8600GT for a friend that had no additional power once.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 09:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: How do I hook up power for my new e-GeForce 8500GT?

lol, disregard my post then. I guess i should have looked to see what it needed before hand.

Anywho...
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*Updated* Laptop Graphics Cards Ranking List veg1992 Laptops and Notebooks 98 12-05-2015 10:24 PM
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
NVIDIA 9500GT to replace 8500GT maroon1 New Technology and Products 4 07-12-2008 03:46 AM
AMD Athlonô 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.