How do I format/partition my SSD please? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-21-2010, 11:53 AM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,314
Default Re: How do I format/partition my SSD please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Use GParted and you won't have that 100MB partition. It does it on any drive, Mguire.

Formatting a SSD is the same as any HDD.
I know, im just letting him know it will be there so he isnt like "wtf is this??".
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 11-21-2010, 12:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: How do I format/partition my SSD please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
Does GParted align partitions correctly on SSDs?
Worked fine for me. Been running this for almost a month.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 05:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lookin' for higher ground
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 1,105
Default Re: How do I format/partition my SSD please?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
IIRC that was required for older first gen SSDs like mine when your first doing an install. Newer ones like the one you have dont require that. And i just let Windows do its little 100MB system partition dealie and all is well with my setup.
Thanks PP Mguire, I used Windows command prompt to set up the SSD and it worked just fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Use GParted and you won't have that 100MB partition. It does it on any drive, Mguire.

Formatting a SSD is the same as any HDD.
I tried to use Gparted 3 times. Each time after using it Windows command prompt would not permit me to set up the SSD. Some message like not enough room or something like that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
It sounds like your over-complicating the whole thing. With Windows 7 it's easy. When you get to the screen to select the drive, just select your SSD and then select the button labeled "new". It will create 2 partitions, the "Main" partition that you install Windows 7 to and a 100MB partition Reserved for the System. Click "Next".

I think Sanitary Erase is the program farinha meant. But you don't need to use Sanitary Erase with a new drive. If you need to re-install Windows it is recommend to run Sanitary Eraser. But Sanitary Erase will wipe the drive clean, so back-up all your personal files. Sanitary Erase clears every data block on the drive restoring it, as close as it can, to it's factory released condition. Every data block has a limited number (undetermined at this time) of times that it can be written to. If a block has been written to a 100 times Sanitary Erase can't change that.

You can use AS-SSD Benchmark to check your disk alignment. You don't have to run the benchmark through it's tests, you just have to start it. If your alignment is Good it will say OK, where I've highlighted in red.


Is your drive a Agility or is it a Agility2?
Slay, thanks for the screen shot. I will try that software. I have an Agility 2. I've tried several times to upgrade the firmware from 1.22 to 1.24 using the exact instructions from OCZ, but it just won't work. Not sure why. Presently everything seems to be working well on it. I just ran the AS-SSD and received the OK, so thanks for helping me see if everything is aligned!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
Does GParted align partitions correctly on SSDs?
Not sure PJ! I only know that after using Gparted to make a partition, Windows command prompt would not permit me to set up the SSD. Had to do it through Windows. I'm sure I was missing something or did not know what I was doing. Gparted has been my favorite ever since Mak told me about it.

Thanks everyone for your good advice and input. I'm learning a lot!
__________________
Intel i5-3570
ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GeForce 560Ti
Seasonic SS660XP Platinum
Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB
CM HAF X Blue
Antec H20 620
Intel 180GB SATA III 520
WD Black Caviar 2 TB
Seagate Green 3 TB
Gentle Typhoons [3]
Scythe Fan Controller w/Temps
soarwitheagles is offline  
Old 11-22-2010, 08:07 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: How do I format/partition my SSD please?

Can you post a screenshot of AS-SSD Benchmark, you don't have to run the benchmark.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Format partition to another NTFS version. 1Nation Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-19-2009 10:16 AM
Quick XP Format and Partition Question Vaanish Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-29-2008 06:43 PM
Windows partition format.. other programs? Akubane Microsoft Windows and Software 5 03-01-2008 08:29 PM
I need to format a partition but can't! SupremeRuler99 Microsoft Windows and Software 1 09-10-2007 07:10 AM
Cannot access data partition after format Incitatus Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 07-07-2005 10:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.