How do i find what processor socket i have on my motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2007, 07:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Thumbs up How do i find what processor socket i have on my motherboard?

Hi new to tech-forums, thinking of spending around £30-40 on upgrading to an intel celeron processor for my pc, yes i am running a pretty old machine, heres my motherboard specs: http://www.msi.com.tw/program/produc...il.php?UID=108

this is the processor im thinking of investing in: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Intel-BX8054...&s=electronics
thanks guys:bald:
__________________

Mike Rotch is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Well if you look on your motherboards site it says pentium II pentium II and celeron so i would imagine that processor you want would fit.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default yes...

i did happen to notice that, but my question is about the socket on the motherboard, im not very good when it comes to things about CPU however im aware that there are many different sockets.
cheers
Mike Rotch is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 08:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Look the celeron will fit that mobo it says it on the mobo's site. Its a 775 socket it will fit.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 08:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

thats definatly not a skt 775 board
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 08:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
TeH ViZarD
 
PanzerKammander's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 652
Send a message via AIM to PanzerKammander
Default

Download this program, install, and run it.. it will have everything about your mainboard.

http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php
__________________
PanzerKammander is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 08:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Im confused now ya that isnt a 775 socket board either the celerons were out before 775 socket was made right? Anyways i dont know what i was thinking earlier. Honestly i dont even know what the **** the guy is asking lol.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 11:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

download a program called cpu-z (what cdub suggested) and then run it. It will tell you your current cpu, mobo, socket etc.... Then post a screenshot of it or tell us what it says.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 11:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lancec2c30
download a program called cpu-z (what cdub suggested) and then run it. It will tell you your current cpu, mobo, socket etc.... Then post a screenshot of it or tell us what it says.
HAHA i didnt suggest that panzer did. I dont know what **** this guy is asking so im done lol.
__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 12:07 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to jrdwstfll
Default

umm.. the motherboard you have supports 233-500 mhz speed.. the celeron d is 2. whatever ghz.. i don't think thats gonna work
__________________

__________________
<iframe src=\"http://gamercard.xbox.com/jrdwstfll.card\" scrolling=\"no\" frameBorder=\"0\" height=\"140\" width=\"204\">Jrdwstfll</iframe>
jrdwstfll is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.