How did I do? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2009, 11:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: How did I do?

ok thnx. Ill try a 3 ghz overclock and see how that goes. I have received the chip yet so I dont know what stepping it is but I'm gonna guess and say its a B3
__________________

xxfirexx is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 01:09 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: How did I do?

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxfirexx View Post
ok thnx. Ill try a 3 ghz overclock and see how that goes. I have received the chip yet so I dont know what stepping it is but I'm gonna guess and say its a B3
No it wont be. The B3 stepping hasnt been around for around 18 months.
__________________

__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 01:56 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default Re: How did I do?

Intel seems to run much cooler from what I've seen. But on a stock cooler I wouldn't recommend OCing. Though you could probably bump it up a notch and be safe. Just watch your temps.
__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 05:03 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default Re: How did I do?

Just get a cheap cpu cooler
newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Old 04-05-2009, 01:09 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Pyrothrillah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South of you
Posts: 464
Default Re: How did I do?

I have never heard of going past 3.2 on them, not on stock. If you overclock, please just be safe and get a good aftermarket cooler. IMO
__________________

__________________
Follow My Twitch Stream
Buy Discounted PC Games and more!
Free Amazon Prime 30-Day Trial

New build as of 3/5/2014
--------------------------
Intel Core i7-4930K Ivy Bridge-E 3.4GHz
EVGA GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Corsair h100i Liquid CPU Cooler
G.SKILL RipJaws 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 1600
ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011
Corsair 540 Case
Corsair AX850 Professional Series Modular PSU
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit for System Builders


<---- If you feel sorry for me, or either I helped you - throw me some rep :D
Pyrothrillah is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.