How can i know it's DX 9 or 10 in the graphic card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-07-2006, 11:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Default How can i know it's DX 9 or 10 in the graphic card?

How can we know it's DX 9 or DX10 that the graphic card can support ?
__________________

SpringNite is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 12:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

it the specifications it will say directx9, 8 , 7 or 10 when the vid cards come out that support dx10
__________________

__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 01:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well nothing now has dx10.. and nothing will til the r600 and g80.. so no worries about that for a while
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 01:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

wow.... well to answer your question directly (even if it is silly)

u can find out wat it is by looking at the model number

Nvidia's
5xxx= DX8

6xxx
+
7xxx=DX9

Not sure about ATI tho. lol
alexsabree is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 05:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 106
Default

Thanks bross~ Finally i've got it~
SpringNite is offline  
Old 06-08-2006, 05:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Start>>run>>"dxdiag"
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 12:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
suicide007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: inside.
Posts: 279
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by alexsabree
wow.... well to answer your question directly (even if it is silly)

u can find out wat it is by looking at the model number

Nvidia's
5xxx= DX8

6xxx
+
7xxx=DX9

Not sure about ATI tho. lol
Actually, i have a fx5500 and it came with dx 9.0c. wait, maybe thats my problem. I get like 1fps literally on halo with all settings on low. Do i need to install dx 8? It doesnt sound right to me, but i really kinda need to know.
__________________
Intel Conroe e6750
SLI EVGA 8800gts KO's
4GB Patriot DDR2 800mhz
22" Widescreen Sceptre LCD monitor 5ms
OCZ 700W psu
320gb seagate w/ perpindicular tech.
Creative SB X-Fi Fatality
Thermaltake Armor: Extreme Edition
suicide007 is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 12:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default

the fx5500 runs dx9 in theory. However when you play games with it, it does not run direct x 9. I believe the 5500 goes direct x 8.1.

No, if you have direct x 9 installed on it you are fine. You shouldn't be getting frames that low with that system. My downstairs system is a p4 2.4 ghz with an fx5200 and I get pretty good frames on low.
__________________

__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.