How can I install drivers for a pci and pci-e card at the same time? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2006, 01:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default How can I install drivers for a pci and pci-e card at the same time?

I've been trying to install a pci-e card but whenever I install the drivers it causes my computer to crash and will only boot into safe mode. I figure its driver error since I'm using a pci card now. Reason being is the pci-e card won't show anything at bootup and I want to just see if it will at least install.
The pci card is a 5200 and the pci-e is a 6800gto (from dell).
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 04:16 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

my guess is the card doesn't work. if it doesn't show anything during post when the card is installed on its own there is a hardware problem. aside from that the nVIDIA Forceware drivers should work for both cards. i suppose your best bet would be to check in BIOS for the order it recognises display devices in. make sure it detects pci-e first.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 10:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
my guess is the card doesn't work. if it doesn't show anything during post when the card is installed on its own there is a hardware problem. aside from that the nVIDIA Forceware drivers should work for both cards. i suppose your best bet would be to check in BIOS for the order it recognises display devices in. make sure it detects pci-e first.
I presume that you are switching betwwen cards after post. Been there and done that. The Dell card is, as the quote above suggests, Doggie Doodoo! The fact that it crashes when the generic drivers at post are replaced by manufacturers drivers indicates that that card probably has bad GDR memory. Buy a new card. If you have the money, buy a 7900GT.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

I can only select one card to display.
What I don't understand is why does the card show up in device manager if its broken?
Could broken memory cause that to happen? I was able to get it recognized in device manager as a 6800 once but then it would only run in safemode.
dario03 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.