How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2007, 09:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo

I have a Gigabyte P35-DS3R motherboard along with an e6750 two G.Skill 1GB DDR2 800 ram sticks which came as 4-4-4-12.


The problem I'm having is that I cannot find anywhere in the p35's bios in which I can change the FSB : DRAM ratio. Currently I have my e6750 overclocked to 3.2Ghz with a FSB of 400Mhz and a multiplier of 8.

CPU-Z says that my memory is running at 480Mhz with a FSB : DRAM ratio of 5:6. The timings were set automatically to 5-6-6-18.
__________________

__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 09:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo

I think you have to set the RAM multiplier to 2. This should give you a ratio of 1:1
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 10:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo

Awesome, that did the trick.

Is it possible to change the memory timings? My M.I.T. looks exactly like this (I found this picture off google) and I can't find anywhere that says CAS/RAS/ram timings.

__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 10:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I think you have to set the RAM multiplier to 2. This should give you a ratio of 1:1
b1gapl u freaking genius,... u gotta help me if i get a Yorkfield... when i overclock, nagasama if i go phenom
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 10:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo

TO be able to change the timing for that mobo you have to hit ctrl + F1 in the main bios menu, this will activate the advanced controls, then go into the menu you have the pic of and you can adjust timing. The manual doesn't mention this anywhere, I had to look it up on forums.

Funny I asked this same question here today (its a few posts down. Yeah just set the multiplier to 2 and you can the manually set it to 4:4:4:12.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 10:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo

Now that I have 1:1 CPU-Z somehow displays my speed as 2.4Ghz (400Mhz and 6multiplier)

But when I go to My Comp -> Properties it says 3.2Ghz

3dmark06 also says my computer is 3.2Ghz

Why did the multiplier change in CPU-Z from 8 to 6 after I made the Ram multiplier 2
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo

Quote:
Originally Posted by dashogun View Post
Now that I have 1:1 CPU-Z somehow displays my speed as 2.4Ghz (400Mhz and 6multiplier)

But when I go to My Comp -> Properties it says 3.2Ghz

3dmark06 also says my computer is 3.2Ghz

Why did the multiplier change in CPU-Z from 8 to 6 after I made the Ram multiplier 2
That is a power saving feature I as I was told, I get the same exact thing (cause we have like the same exact system). Once you start running something to put a load on the CPU the multiplier will jump up to 8x. Watch it when you run 3dmark or another stress tester.
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 10:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
(>-_-)>
 
dashogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to dashogun Send a message via MSN to dashogun Send a message via Yahoo to dashogun
Default Re: How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo

Thanks BlueHeaven, The CTRL F1 worked, which surprised me as I never knew that option existed -_- Should've labeled it in the manual

We almost have the same hardware so hopefully this is normal that it displays 2.4Ghz.


Edit:

This is interesting. When I run SP2004 on both cores, the core speed instantly jumps from 2.4 to 3.2Ghz.
__________________

My computer is now officially out of date :<
dashogun is offline  
Old 08-01-2007, 11:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: How can I adjust FSB:RAM ratio on P35-DS3R mobo

If I'm not mistaken...that is the SpeedStep technology, that brings your multiplier or speed down, when you're not doing anything, CPU intensive. You can disable this if you want to, if you don't want the speed going down.

You do this by going to the Advanced BIOS Features menu, in the BIOS. And then disable CPU EIST Function.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.