How is this AMD build. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2009, 01:41 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
Benchmarks?
Well i loaded it up real quick to see what i could do and at 1680x1050 all high settings 4xAA i was averaging a good 40-50fps.

It was incredibly smooth...couldint believe it with my own eyes. If i had vista installed i woudl run it in DX10 mode...but its still very playable maxed out on this card.

And quad-sli gives 70fps rofl.
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:46 AM   #22 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

Its not that I doubted the GTX295 would handle Crysis really well. Its just that for a moment I thought that there was actually a King Kong stature video card that could max out crysis.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 11:36 AM   #23 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

Seems I stand corrected. I assumed Crysis maxing was still out of reach. It is out of practical reach as most people wont be buying such expensive card. Anyways this thread is getting derailed lets try to keep it on the OP's build.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 11:41 AM   #24 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Well i loaded it up real quick to see what i could do and at 1680x1050 all high settings 4xAA i was averaging a good 40-50fps.

It was incredibly smooth...couldint believe it with my own eyes. If i had vista installed i woudl run it in DX10 mode...but its still very playable maxed out on this card.

And quad-sli gives 70fps rofl.
Did you download the Very High hack for Crapsis?

Crysis Demo 'Very High' Settings Hack
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 05:27 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

Phenom II 940's are now $235 on newegg
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 08:32 AM   #26 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
You guys arent making sense.

The Q9400 and Phenom 940 are pretty much the same in performance...only difference is super pi.



I beg to differ..the GTX 295 does it with ease.
When I said that the q9400 was quite a bit cheaper than the PII 940. Now that the phenom 2's have dropped in price it's a different story.

That's extremely impressive that a GTX 295 can max out Crysis at a high res like that.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 08:45 AM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

You can get the 940 BE with the motherboard in the OP (Biostar 790GX3) for $329
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

*edit*
try using this promo code: AMD1815
it's supposed to give $15 off the Phenom II's
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
Hello AMD Socket G34 Trotter New Technology and Products 45 12-27-2008 06:33 PM
I've rethought my first build Messiah New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-29-2008 11:27 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 90 09-17-2007 07:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.