How is this AMD build. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2009, 10:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

The golds are Micron D-9gmh's. They are good for 4-5-4-15 at stock speeds. I haven't seen any other ram for that price do that. And as long as I have been building machines I have been told Patriot is a 2nd or 3rd tier company, Not like Corsair and OCZ. The golds will do fine I can attest from first hand experience.

So I took your guys advice, went with this

CPU: Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.66GHz
MOBO: BIOSTAR TForce TP45HP
GPU: XFX 4870 512Mb
PSU: Corsair 650Tx
CASE: Antec 900 (Combo with the PSU)
RAM: OCZ Gold 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1100 X2
CPU HEATSINK: Core Contact Freezer

This build only saved me about $40, is that really better than the other build.


Yes it is. hard to believe I'm sure, but the Phenom 2s are closer performance wise to the older 65nm Intel Quads. The 45nm ones, like the Q9400 are faster, and in this case cheaper. That build will serve you well.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 10:53 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Morris, IL
Posts: 178
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

Well thanks everyone for the input, going to be buying this within the next week.
__________________

Inked is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 11:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

No problem. Let us know how it goes. If you want to overclock, be sure to read the guide first and then ask questions. We are happy to help.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-16-2009, 11:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

Aww, I came in too late to suggest intel parts. :[

+3989734112 to the build you put up there, matt. Rockin'.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-18-2009, 06:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

Thanks man. I aim to please.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 12:12 AM   #16 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
The golds are Micron D-9gmh's. They are good for 4-5-4-15 at stock speeds. I haven't seen any other ram for that price do that. And as long as I have been building machines I have been told Patriot is a 2nd or 3rd tier company, Not like Corsair and OCZ. The golds will do fine I can attest from first hand experience.

So I took your guys advice, went with this

CPU: Intel Core2 Quad Q9400 2.66GHz
MOBO: BIOSTAR TForce TP45HP
GPU: XFX 4870 512Mb
PSU: Corsair 650Tx
CASE: Antec 900 (Combo with the PSU)
RAM: OCZ Gold 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1100 X2
CPU HEATSINK: Core Contact Freezer

This build only saved me about $40, is that really better than the other build.


Yes it is. hard to believe I'm sure, but the Phenom 2s are closer performance wise to the older 65nm Intel Quads. The 45nm ones, like the Q9400 are faster, and in this case cheaper. That build will serve you well.
Woah that system will run anything you throw at it.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:07 AM   #17 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

No, it will run crysis. It just wont max it out. Nothing will. I get good frames at 1680x1050 with my rig so he should be perfectly fine.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:09 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
+1. The Phenom 2's are only a good option for people who already own amd motherboards.
You guys arent making sense.

The Q9400 and Phenom 940 are pretty much the same in performance...only difference is super pi.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
No, it will run crysis. It just wont max it out. Nothing will. I get good frames at 1680x1050 with my rig so he should be perfectly fine.
I beg to differ..the GTX 295 does it with ease.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:29 AM   #19 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
I beg to differ..the GTX 295 does it with ease.
Benchmarks?
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 01:38 AM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: How is this AMD build.

1900 x 1200 is heavy duty resolution for crysis.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First post - First build - HT/Media/Multi-Task Build Reco's? delirium330 New Systems | Building and Buying 60 01-12-2009 03:07 PM
Hello AMD Socket G34 Trotter New Technology and Products 45 12-27-2008 06:33 PM
I've rethought my first build Messiah New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-29-2008 11:27 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD Unveils "Barcelona" Architecture Wildside New Systems | Building and Buying 90 09-17-2007 07:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.