Hooking up a subowoofer to your PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2007, 09:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Hooking up a subowoofer to your PC

hey, i have a subwoofer from a home theatre system that i would like to add to my current set of speakers or connect to the PC. is this possible?
__________________

__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Hooking up a subowoofer to your PC

What connections are there? Is the subwoofer self-powered? What slots are available on the computer?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Hooking up a subowoofer to your PC

Is the Subwoofer Passive or Active(not powered or powered). Also how many audio outputs to you have?
__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Hooking up a subowoofer to your PC

Exactly, nice repeat.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Hooking up a subowoofer to your PC

ummmm, the subwoofer has to be plugged into a wall outlet to get its power. i have the DFI NF4-D motherboard with no sound card.

i have 8 audo ports:
line-in
front R/L (line-out)
Mic- in
Center/Subwoofer
rear R/L
side R/L
S/Pdif-n
S/pdif-out
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 01:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Hooking up a subowoofer to your PC

btw. the subwoofer is using a rca jack. so do i just buy a rca to mini stero and plug it into the center/subwoofer port?
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 02:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: Hooking up a subowoofer to your PC

That should work as long as you plug in the correct channel. I asked the same question, have a look at this thread: Home Theatre Sub + PC
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 04:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Hooking up a subowoofer to your PC

so basically i get one of these cables?

http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/ima...w200_th200.jpg
__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 09:34 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Hooking up a subowoofer to your PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazieaznboi View Post
so basically i get one of these cables?

http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/ima...w200_th200.jpg
yes, 1/8" stereo phone plug to RCA outs.

have an external amp power it - your surround sound receiver.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 06:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 692
Default Re: Hooking up a subowoofer to your PC

this subwoofer is already amped built in.
__________________

__________________
System Specs
Opteron 165 cooled by Zalman 9500A LED // DFI Lanparty UT NF4-D // Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA 3.0Gb/s 320-GB Hard Drive // Sapphire X1950XT 256MB cooled by Zalman VF900 Cu LED // 2x1GB OCZ EL Plantinum // Enermax NoiseTaker 430W // Pioneer DVD & Combo Optical Drive // 20" Samsung 206BW Monitor // Logitech Z-2300 Speakers // Logitech G11 Keyboard and Microsoft Sidewinder mouse // Antec Nine Hundred Case
krazieaznboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking up consoles to media center PCs Aesrin Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 09-27-2007 03:33 PM
Hooking my LCD TV as a monitor steveasorus Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 9 06-26-2007 01:04 AM
Hooking speakers up via digital/5.1 Speaker placement mack Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 05-01-2007 06:41 PM
Hooking my computer to my TV. Nuggs Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-11-2007 04:39 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.