Hooking A PC Up To A HDTV - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2008, 05:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Hooking A PC Up To A HDTV

I am looking at getting a 42" HDTV. I am thinking about a Sony Bravia.

If I want to hook my pc up to this tv, will I need to get a tv that has a native 1920x1050 panel in it, so I can display at that resolution with my pc?

I noticed some specs say the tv is full 1080P.....which says they have a native resolution of 1920X1050

Others say that the 1080p resolution is only available thru HDMI?

I am confused

Any help will be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 06:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Hooking A PC Up To A HDTV

its 1920x1080 by the way...

i use my 40 inch samsung lcd tv as my monitor

just buy a hdmi to dvi cable and you'll be fine.. you can find em at your local bestbuy.. or even newegg

some newer tv's actually already come with a dvi or d-sub input.. mine has a d-sub in it.. but no dvi..

i, in no way suggest you use d-sub if you have it... it looks like dog turd in terms of color
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 06:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Hooking A PC Up To A HDTV

Thanks NosBoost300

Yes, i meant 1920X1080
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 06:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Hooking A PC Up To A HDTV

then you can take one of these pictures



__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 06:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Hooking A PC Up To A HDTV

I just recently did this. I own a 27" Olevia HDTV and it has a VGA port on it. It only runs at 1360x760 but i just run a DVI->VGA cable out the second DVI port on my 8800GT. I don't use it as my main monitor but i can clone image or play games on it instead if i want.

If it only has DVI and wants HDMI there are DVI->HDMI addaptors. However it should run at full res with only DVI.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 06:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Hooking A PC Up To A HDTV

Holy crap NosBoost300....are you powering that beast with that X1900XTX you bought from me?
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 06:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Hooking A PC Up To A HDTV

not yet!!! but it will be once i get my water pump!! i have no cooler for my cpu.. so i'm computerless at the moment..


in that picture it was powered by my old 8800gtx.. and recently it was powered by my old 9800gx2... but, sometime during this week your x1900xtx will be powering up this baby!

i can't wait to have my watercooling loop up and running


let me know how the tv works for you!!! i'll never game on anything smaller than my 40 incher ever again... gaming will never be the same!!! it consumes all my vision.... and not in a bad... oh god my eyes hurt kinda way

hands are lifesized in first person shooters... and it really feels like ur in the game

i won't even begin to speak of what condemned has done to me!!!! and doom 3....

and not only that.. now i can sit back and chill while playing gta4 on my ps3 from my bed.. good fun!!!

i wanna get one of those wireless mouse pointers that are like the wii-mote.. that would definitely make me even lazier than i already am
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 06:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Hooking A PC Up To A HDTV

Our HDTV will be in our living room....used mainly for watching tv.......but I am thinking I may sneak a cable to it from the pc so I have that option if i wish to use it.
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 06-21-2008, 07:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Hooking A PC Up To A HDTV

i say you do it... totally worth it.. and amazing good fun...

and not only that.. pick up some more storage.. save ur dvd's on the pc.. and u got yourself a movie box so you never have to get up to change dvd's again!!

and get a nice tv tuner... and record yourself some television!! thats the track i'm on!!

and i've received good news that i've gotten my x-fi xtreme music today!! happy dayssss... my computer is almost complete



and.. also, when ur having lil family parties.. inviting people over.. you can picture slideshows going on in the background... with your music playing hooked up to some surround sounds (if you have it of course)
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking up computer to HDTV dave39 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 03-18-2008 07:03 PM
hdtv taintedplay New Systems | Building and Buying 5 02-07-2008 12:03 AM
Connecting PC video to HDTV Chaconne Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 12-01-2007 10:23 PM
how do u adjust the widescreen ratio when connecting to a HDTV? Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 09-19-2007 01:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.