Home Entertainment/Gaming PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paisan

In Runtime
Hi gang,

I have been looking into building my very first system for a couple of months now and have been doing a lot of research. especially on this forum. You guys are awesome for giving so much of your time to us noobs.

I have been gaming for about 15 years now. I can remember back to when a math coprocessor was an upgrade item, hehe. That being said, I have always had the benefit of company machines or hand-me-downs and never bothered to build one from scratch on my own.

NOW IT'S TIME!!

So Im looking at building primarily a game machine. Mostly an MMO'er here, but do play a few of the others as well. I am also moving into a new house, which is rj-45 wired and have been toying with the idea of a home entertainment system as well.

All that being said, here is a list of what I am looking to put together. I know a lot of these components aren't your favorites, but I would like some honest feedback if I am on the right path or not. Also, keep in mind that I am a gadget geek who loves bells and whistles and things that are unique or less common (when I see ads stating "best selling ______ in America" I instantly look elsewhere).

EVGA nForce 680i SLI NVIDIA Socket 775 ATX Motherboard (A1 Version) and an Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.40GHz Socket 775 OEM Processor at TigerDirect.com

Corsair Dual Channel TWINX 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz E.P.P. Memory (2 x 1024) TWIN2X2048-6400C4 at TigerDirect.com x2

Thermaltake V1 Multi-Socket 775AM2939754 Copper CPU Cooler CL-P0401 at TigerDirect.com

EVGA GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB GDDR3 SLI Ready PCI Express Dual DVI HDTV HDCP Enabled Video Card 640-P2-N821-AR at TigerDirect.com

Apevia Iceberg 680-Watt ATX Dual 80mm Fan 2024 Pin SLI-Ready SATA-Ready Blue Power Supply ATX-IB680W-BL at TigerDirect.com

Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro Sound Card 70SB055000002 at TigerDirect.com