Holy **** - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2007, 07:14 PM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

^ Don't even joke.

Its $166 or so at release, and supposed to drop to $133 by the next quarter.

The OC'ing capability if friggin' awesome for a chip at this price.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 01:38 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

3 ghz seems really far for an e 6300, are you sure your not thinking of an e6600?
__________________

__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 01:42 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Higach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 176
Send a message via AIM to Higach
Default

ive heard the e6300 can get 3.15ghz easy so im sure he could be thinking of the 6300
__________________

Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.2 GHz
Zalman 9500 HSF
BIOSTAR Tforce 965PT
eVGA 7950gt 512MB @ 590/740
3x1GB G.Skill DDR2 800 PC2 6400
Western Digital 160GB 7200RPM 16mb Cache
KINGWIN sk-523
Fortorn Source FSP 400W
Higach is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 01:44 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 611
Default

dang, i remember some of the earlier overclocks when they came out were maxing out at around 3 ghz. Im on stock cooling too. Im getting ready to overclock, im gonna do it this afternoon.
__________________
spartan1121 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 01:58 PM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

how does ram limit these crazy Oc's? What if your DDR2 ram divider only goes down so low???
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 03:49 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 90
Default

For someone that's about to get a C2D, I guess I should wait a couple of months then? If the E4300 is a budget model, should I still go for a E6300 or E6400 now that it will have a 4MB cache?
Space_Coyote is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 04:05 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

i would say yes go with the e6300 yeah, it'll be a great chip with the 4mb, and decently priced.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 04:12 PM   #28 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

The e6300 only has a 2mb l2 cache.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 04:22 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default

im sorry, your right, i meant to say e6320.

i was thinking of it as the new e6300. my mistake.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 01-15-2007, 05:07 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spartan1121
3 ghz seems really far for an e 6300, are you sure your not thinking of an e6600?
3Ghz + is really easy, and common. Just be sure not to sacrifice stability for the sake of higher speeds.

Quote:
Originally posted by BennyV04988
how does ram limit these crazy Oc's? What if your DDR2 ram divider only goes down so low???
Well, if you get DDR2-800 memory, then you're guaranteed 400Mhz from the memory, which would mean 2.8Ghz from your processor (7x multi for an E6300). If you set a 5:4 memory divider, then you can run the memory at 400Mhz while running the FSB at 500Mhz. 500Mhz x 7 = 3.5Ghz from your E6300. If you RAM divider doesn't go any lower, then that shouldn't really be a problem as 3500Mhz is more than enough, and nothing to whine about. Although, I'm sure there are 2:3 dividers on many motherboards.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.