Hmm worth it too upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2008, 12:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Question Hmm worth it too upgrade?

Hey everyone long time no see, I'm very satisfied with my build ( its a few months away shy from being a year old ) and it hasnt given me any hardware problems yet. The one bottleneck I always thought my system has though if I have to pick one is that it only has 2 gigs of ram. G.skill PC6400, then I saw this crazy newegg deal and was wondering:

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

is it really worth it to upgrade to this? I mean Im on 32bit XP so at most the OS will recognize 3 gigs + 256 mb? ( my video card has 768 mb ), also is the added mhz really that much faster? Since I'm OCed to 333 FSB, the ram would be at 533 mhz and since I'm not going to OC the processor anymore as of now, I'll never achieve the 1:1 ratio anyways. Any potential compatability problems? Who thinks its worth it for 90 bucks?
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 12:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Hmm worth it too upgrade?

^thats wouldn't give you much of a performance boost, almost all games will run just as well with 2gbs of ram as with 4gbs (the difference would not be noticable)
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 01:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Hmm worth it too upgrade?

it does help w/ loading but like luke said. During gameplay its not noticable
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 10:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Hmm worth it too upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
^thats wouldn't give you much of a performance boost, almost all games will run just as well with 2gbs of ram as with 4gbs (the difference would not be noticable)
Yeah I kinda figured that too, however did you consider the fact that it runs at 1066 mhz instead of my current ones running at 800 mhz? ( I don't like to OC Ram ). Still not much of a boost?
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 06-27-2008, 10:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Hmm worth it too upgrade?

It still would probably be barely noticeable if even. Also consider if you are not going to oc then those will be the same speed as you old ones or even slower as the timings are higher. Timings are more important then mhz.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 09:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: Hmm worth it too upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
It still would probably be barely noticeable if even. Also consider if you are not going to oc then those will be the same speed as you old ones or even slower as the timings are higher. Timings are more important then mhz.
really I heard for Intel systems the mhz was more important and timings were more important for athlon systems, any truth to any of this? ( forgot who said it, but it was someone on these forums )
VampD is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 09:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Hmm worth it too upgrade?

why in the world would the ram mhz and timings effect the cpu (other then overclocking and that has nothing to do with only amd or only intel)
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 11:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Hmm worth it too upgrade?

I think it has to do with the Integrated Memory controller of AMD
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 11:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Hmm worth it too upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke992006 View Post
why in the world would the ram mhz and timings effect the cpu (other then overclocking and that has nothing to do with only amd or only intel)
um...what? I thought it does ( in terms of efficiency )? anyone shed some light on this
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 06-30-2008, 11:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Hmm worth it too upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
i Think It Has To Do With The Integrated Memory Controller Of Amd
.......
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wondering if it is worth it to upgrade my graphics card in my notebook BSGviper System Upgrades 5 06-23-2008 06:21 AM
Ram upgrade worth it in this machine? stainer711 System Upgrades 5 04-25-2008 01:59 PM
Worth it to Upgrade? Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 16 04-11-2008 06:50 PM
dell xps m1330 ram upgrade worth it? ssturge963 Laptops and Notebooks 2 01-31-2008 12:52 AM
is it worth to upgrade? dingdong-man New Systems | Building and Buying 6 06-08-2007 08:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.