hmm...to upgrade slightly, or to upgrade seriously? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2006, 06:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
Default hmm...to upgrade slightly, or to upgrade seriously?

I probably don't upgrade as much as the hardcore gamers that must absolutely have the best of everything as soon as it comes out does; however, I do like to be able to play games, at nice settings, period...After doing some research on DirectX 10, I have been pondering if placing off doing to many upgrades would be worthwhile as in regards to waiting for the DirectX 10 cards. It's reasonable to assume that most games may be run in DirectX 10 format in 2007. I was just about to make the leap from AGP to PCI-Express, but would it be worthwhile just to get the AGP version of the 7800? That would probably be fine enough until early-mid 2007, correct?

My Rig:

AMD Socket 939 3500+ processor
nVidia nForce 3 motherboard
Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS sound card
1 gig Kingston 3200 RAM
74 gig 10,000 RPM Raptor 2 hard drive
300 gig 7,200 Seagate hard drive
ATI X800 Pro video card

Now my personal preference for video-cards is ATI; however, they didn't release any of their latest cards in AGP format.

lol, I'm not rich or anything like that; so, I ponder, just get an extra gig of memory and the 7800 AGP version and then upgrade with the direct x 10 cards, or do a little more than that?
__________________

__________________
Resident Survival-Horror Expert....I had a mustache once; of course I'm an expert!
dartgande is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 06:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

The rig you have at the moment is pretty nice. i wouldnt bother upgrading your gfx card until directx10 as its not bad anyway. You definetly dont need to upgrade your hdd's.

When you get a directx10 card i would say upgrade to 2gig of ram, buy a new mobo (sli or crossfire) and a dual core processor because games will be using both cores soon.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 06:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

well to me, getting the best agp card now, and then in a years time chucking in the bin...along with the cash you blew on it, just to upgrade, sounds a little stupid...why delay the inevetable, just get pci now, your specs are already pretty decent, i say make the leap.....i wish i did.........

EDIT ^^yea i like his finkin
harry18 is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 07:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Ridlyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,920
Default

Dont do anyupgrading now. Wait until DX10 cards come out, prices by then will have drop down on cpus/mobos by then.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sylus View Post
Could have been worse, you could have been raped by a clown.
Ridlyn is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 06:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
Default

Ahh, so I see. I take it, from the general response, that it's suggested that I don't upgrade anything until another half year or so?
__________________
Resident Survival-Horror Expert....I had a mustache once; of course I'm an expert!
dartgande is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 06:28 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

why are you upgrading? you come across a game you couldn't play?
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 07:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 354
Default

Not yet, but some more FPS in Oblivion would be nice. Lol, getting to use AA in Oblivion would be nice. I have everything set at top settings, but no AA whatsoever. I get down to 14 fps in the highest populated-most npc infested areas.
__________________
Resident Survival-Horror Expert....I had a mustache once; of course I'm an expert!
dartgande is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 07:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

wow dude... thats pretty low...

but ya you have a good rig.. upgrading wouldn't be expensive.. just a 939 mobo for like $75 like the msi k8n and a powerful card.. not sure how much you have.. 1900xt or if you can't afford it then 7900gt .. next step down would be like the 7600gt which i don't think its worth upgrading a system just for that..
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 03:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

just lower ur settings.... DUh.
But yeah. dont upgrade, looking at ur specs, Y would u?
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.