highest GHz in a cpu? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2006, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default highest GHz in a cpu?

ok no , im not buying anything . i just started a plus and the teacher told us to go home and look up the highest Gh fro ma processor and i said oc'd or non oc'd and the rest of te class beside 1 person said what? so he said we'll since you knwo what that is go ahead... im looking on hte internet now but i know some tecies make up some lies liek 12 ghz and what not...... so whats trust worthy?
__________________

zerodayATK is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 04:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

ha ha ha, well, 3.8Ghz was the highest so far in old p-4 series (processor model 672) on default clock,
below that was Pentium EE with 3.73, and below that 3.6Ghz Pentium-D.

havent seen any higher than that, as after that dual cores emerged.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 04:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Well, it must be a VERY basic class as Ghz REALLY don't matter anymore, either way, take a look here:

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=53037

If they are looking for not overclocked, I think the P4 EE was like 3.73Ghz.
The General is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 04:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

EDIT: didnt click the link, general beat me too it
MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 04:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Well, it must be a VERY basic class as Ghz REALLY don't matter anymore, either way, take a look here:

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=53037

If they are looking for not overclocked, I think the P4 EE was like 3.73Ghz.
Of course GHz matter. If they didn't, why would we OC in the first place? The only thing we are changing is the clock rate.

Clock rate x IPC = CPU Performance

Here is an Intel at 7.6GHz:

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...&postcount=161

If this is PC specific, I think that's the tops, however, I am sure there are some supercomputer crap that is higher.
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 04:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...&postcount=161

**** you.

D-A-M-N is a banned word?

Most powerful CPU: http://www.iamxtreme.net/coolaler/WR...26_9000S_1.gif
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 05:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

What I mean is that "Highest Ghz =/= the fastest" ...
The General is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 06:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

thanks yeah i got the 7.2 ghz intel your guys were a lot of help i also printed pics of LN cooling so they can grasp the fact taht you just cant do that at home on your dell ...lol
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 07:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,057
Send a message via AIM to zerodayATK
Default

well... its a+ and most of the kids there (me and another kid are ready for the test) dont have any idea what ghz are.... so h ejsut gave us an asignment bc even thogh me and teh other kid are bored.. the rest of the class is liek what?
__________________

FORMERLY THEYOYOKID303
zerodayATK is offline  
Old 09-12-2006, 07:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

Theyoyokid303... what kinda class are you taking,
sounds like you have a cool teacher
__________________

alexsabree is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.