Higher Profile Upgrade...Need Suggestions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2006, 10:34 AM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

Go with a DFI Lanparty UT SLi-DR Mobo. Any dual core AMD you want would be fine, depending on how much you can spend, if you gonna overclock go with Opteron 165. Get a 7900GT/GTX. no need to sli the 6800, 7900 or even 7800 woops it by itself. This motherboard is ATX. so you case will support it. BTW wat type of PSU do you have. Because if later you choose to SLi ur new card, with the 7900s its recommended that you have at least 450 motherboard.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:48 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

its just a regular 500w psu. Ive actually decided what im going to do:

DFI SLI mobo of some sort
1gb (512x2) what type should i get? If im ocing the opty...
Opteron 165 Denmark CPU (im thinking of OC now...)
7900gt and later another one
36gb Raptor

What do you guys think of this?
__________________

blaackoran is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 10:54 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

the mobo you mentioned is a little pricey for me... any cheaper dfi mobos that work good with denmark?
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 11:33 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

im not sure about DEnmark but you can get a DFI Lanparty UT Ultra-D and then MOD it to SLi, its not that hard, all you need is some acetone and a dull lead pencil. For the ram get G. Skill 1GB Dual Channel, but if you can afford higher get the 2 gb dual channel. Everything else looks fine.
john3 is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 11:42 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

yeah that was the mobo i was just looking at.. ALOT cheaper then the sli version..almost 200$ difference

btw denmark is the same cpu your using i think....how is it anyway?
would you recommend it over a x2 3800+?
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 03-19-2006, 11:48 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Since your basically designing your computer, wait for AM2 (or Conroe).
__________________

Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.