higher fps in games? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2006, 11:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 66
Default higher fps in games?

in oblivion i am getting like 25 - 30 fps is there any way to get this higher?

thanks
__________________

jeff34 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 12:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 53
Send a message via AIM to socom36252
Default

Well what graphics card are you running, and what are your settings in the game. with the information you gave me the only thing i can think of is lower the graphics quality of the game.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 6000+ X2
M2N-SLI Deluxe
eVGA 7900 gt superoverclocked
WinFast TV Tuner
2 gb of Crucial DDR2 800
120 gb sata2 and 250 sata2
dvd-rw
dvd/cd-rw
500 watt psu
Windows XP Home
socom36252 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

Yeah, list your system specs.
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 03:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 66
Default

2 gigs pc3200- patriot
200 gig pata harddrive - might get a 74 gig raptor
e-geforce 6600 gt 256mb
amd 3500+
asus a8n-sli delux
jeff34 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 04:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 66
Default

antialiasing is at 4x on card and in game i have it set at 2
the resolution is 1024 x 768
jeff34 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 04:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

and the other quality settings? keep in mind the 6600gt is not top of the line anymore and you shouldn't expect brilliant performance in the newest games anymore
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 06:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 66
Default

also i cant overclock the 6600 when i test settings it says its to high but its barley overclocked what is stoping my from doing it?
jeff34 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 09:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jeff34
also i cant overclock the 6600 when i test settings it says its to high but its barley overclocked what is stoping my from doing it?
what program are you using ?? what are your current speeds and what are you trying to overclock the to ?
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 09:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

You probably won't get the 6600GT faster than 525/1050 on stock.

Also, it's simply outdated, the whole 6600 series is. The 6800XT and 6800GS are barely staying alive, but will be killed off within the coming months. The 7300, 7600 and 7900 series are the three areas you want to look at for a new video card, but for gaming I'd look at the 7600 at the lowest.
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 09:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

The 7300 is slower than the 6200, and the x1300 vanilla opens a can of whoop @ss on both of them. However, they are all low end cards and should not be considered for gaming.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.