High performance PC vs Mac Pro - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2009, 07:59 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: High performance PC vs Mac Pro

I did the driver mode to my GTX 280 when I 1st got one and ran SPECviewperf. I uploaded this image 11 months ago.

__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 08-13-2009, 09:57 PM   #22 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: High performance PC vs Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenenbaum View Post
Thats odd, its almost as if...you came here without the intention of absorbing any help at all, and just ordered everything regardless of any suggestion made.
But who knows, could just be me.
Many people do that. As evidenced by him buying a card with 2gig video memory. He must have a massive monitor. I hope he installs a 64bit OS too, or he may not get to use it.
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 09:22 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: High performance PC vs Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by zmatt View Post
Many people do that. As evidenced by him buying a card with 2gig video memory. He must have a massive monitor. I hope he installs a 64bit OS too, or he may not get to use it.
First of all, I really appreciate the help.

About that, I took advise and I downgraded the processor, the only two black spots left where the GPU and the HDDs.

On the GPU, I do work on a massive monitor and I am installing a 64bit OS. Having still some doubts on it you'll have to agree that a 2GB GTX 285 for 150 pounds it's a pretty good deal.

And about the HDDs, well I would love to have a couple more of SSDs for storage but it's been mainly a budget decision.


Thanks again.
Riddley is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 12:29 PM   #24 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: High performance PC vs Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riddley View Post
First of all, I really appreciate the help.

About that, I took advise and I downgraded the processor, the only two black spots left where the GPU and the HDDs.

On the GPU, I do work on a massive monitor and I am installing a 64bit OS. Having still some doubts on it you'll have to agree that a 2GB GTX 285 for 150 pounds it's a pretty good deal.

And about the HDDs, well I would love to have a couple more of SSDs for storage but it's been mainly a budget decision.


Thanks again.
I wouldn't get an SSD for storage right now. They are just too expensive.

As far as he gpu, that is a good deal so I won't get you there. But normally I wouldn't get a 2gig video card.
__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Old 08-15-2009, 02:27 AM   #25 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: High performance PC vs Mac Pro

Well yeh, i could be wrong about modding a card into a pro card. To be honest it was a while ago now i looked into it on Nvidia cards and it may be a different ball game for ATI.

But you shouldnt be too dissapointed with a i7 and GTX285. I use 3Ds Max and it works very well on mine, as long as your fine with using OpenGL. The hyperthreading comes in very handy for rendering as well.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 08-15-2009, 08:46 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: High performance PC vs Mac Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
I did the driver mode to my GTX 280 when I 1st got one and ran SPECviewperf. I uploaded this image 11 months ago.



driver mod?

It doesnt look like it worked if those are the numbers you are getting.
__________________

UA_Iron is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A High Performance Gaming PC for cheap Thorr New Systems | Building and Buying 43 06-14-2008 12:11 AM
High Performance Desktop H2C-X New Systems | Building and Buying 27 04-22-2008 08:24 PM
Where should I buy a high performance laptop? Poemaster New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-02-2008 06:42 AM
High Performance on budget MrAnonymous System Upgrades 18 08-01-2007 07:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.