high performance!! anyone else runnin 7.1GHz?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2006, 02:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 40
Default high performance!! anyone else runnin 7.1GHz??

anyone else running a pentium dual core at 7.1GHz?

as it is dual core!
both overclocked! and both running at 3.55GHz:
so 3.55+3.55=7.1GHz!!

have yew had any problems atall so far??

reply wiggy
__________________

wiggy is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Um, it doesn't work like that. It's two 3.55GHZ cores that work together. Their clock speeds don't combine. If it did, it'd just be a super fast single core. I would work on expanding your knowledge on how dual core works.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 02:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 40
Default

i am only going by what my friends call it! and i do appologies if this is the case!

*now feeling a right idiot*
wiggy is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 02:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

Need to change the signature :P
Btw why 4 gig ram? Is 2 not enough? Can you notice the difference?

James.
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 02:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

He needs to sell 2GB of that (as it can actually slow down his PC) and use it to upgrade something else, like towards a new video card.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 02:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 40
Default

yes i will change th sig!!!lol!!

*still feel an idiot* :P

ummm i wud not no if ther was i a difference as i have never had 2gig RAM! my last computer only had 512mb! and wen i upgraded i went the whole hog!:P so went straight 2 4gig!!

wiggy
wiggy is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 02:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 40
Default

can it realy slow it down? this is a first that i have heard of this!!

and i do not need 2 sell th ova 2 gig RAM for the money as i have enough as it is!so any ideas of a really good graphics card??

wiggy
wiggy is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 02:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 829
Send a message via ICQ to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via AIM to Jam3s-Zer0 Send a message via Yahoo to Jam3s-Zer0
Default

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal..._Video_56.html
Have a look here for graphics card. (english delivery)
Jam3s-Zer0 is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 02:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

it's more memory than the computer can handle. It increases seek time a lot and throws errors like crazy because it's too much memory for the thing to handle. It is complete waste 100%.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-13-2006, 02:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Yeah, 4GB can slow your PC down. Not sure if this is fact or not, but I heard that the Windows XP 64bit version will utilize the 4GB of RAM.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.