High-End Video Card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2006, 09:54 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
korky122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 363
Send a message via AIM to korky122
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814150149

i bought this a week ago, it is awsome. i run bf2, fear, cod2 at
ma ma ma max. at like 1280x1024 resolution. getting very high fps. highly reccomended. i would have arrived in 4 days but ups dont ship on the weekends.

GET THIS CARD.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Quad @ 2.5ghz (slacr)
3 gigs corsair xms2 ram
8800 gt 512 mb superclocked
Windows Vista
korky122 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 10:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Default

I would get this 7900 GT because--correct me if I'm mistaken-- it looks a little faster (though I thought the KO was faster, it doesn't seem to be).

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130282
__________________

__________________
Come join the Expiration Date Forums! Discussion boards for everything from lucid dreaming to movies & TV to webcomics, and more!
visionRAY is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 10:33 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by visionRAY
I would get this 7900 GT because--correct me if I'm mistaken-- it looks a little faster (though I thought the KO was faster, it doesn't seem to be).

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130282
yes that card is faster because its the CO superclocked. you could get that one, but the KO is also good becuase it has a custom copper heatsink, so you can prolly OC to those speeds anyways. it's really up to you.
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 10:58 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

wait, have you made sure your motherboard has PCI-E 16X?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 12:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by infiltrator7
yes that card is faster because its the CO superclocked. you could get that one, but the KO is also good becuase it has a custom copper heatsink, so you can prolly OC to those speeds anyways. it's really up to you.
Oh yeah, that's true; I remember reading about that. I guess if you wanted to save a little money, get the KO and then overclock it. I would probably go for that one after all.

Hehe. ManBearPig---super serial!
__________________
Come join the Expiration Date Forums! Discussion boards for everything from lucid dreaming to movies & TV to webcomics, and more!
visionRAY is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 05:37 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

lol i got the card but now i cant afford the games.. lolol

thanks guys.. KO it is
__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 08:17 PM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

good choice my son!
jk

but yeh try hitting up Ebay for games. people sell new games they cant run on there for dirt cheap

BE CAREFULL if you do cause there are some jag offs out there who will screw you over. read the item description well. and ask questions

but its a good way to save
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 08:29 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ManBearPig
lol i got the card but now i cant afford the games.. lolol

thanks guys.. KO it is
Now I just need to pick one up for myself.
__________________
Come join the Expiration Date Forums! Discussion boards for everything from lucid dreaming to movies & TV to webcomics, and more!
visionRAY is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 09:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

oh and dude any power supply will work in a dell ( i bought a hiper 580 watter and put it into my dell dimensoin 9100, it fit fine, all screws lined up and stuff)
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 01:02 AM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 125
Send a message via Yahoo to ManBearPig
Default

so i can get an atx power supply and it would fit?!?

please confirm this please

i want this one but its atx:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817148025
__________________

__________________
P4 HT 3.0 Ghz
2x512 Samsung Memory
Intel G945i Chipset
eVGA 7900GT KO
Crappy 80g HD
(trying to get )ePOWER 500watt PSU
ManBearPig is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.