High End Cpu - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2007, 02:29 PM   #21 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: High End Cpu

Quad cores are not worth it as they are right now actually the same speed as a Dual-core. You COULD get one I guess but they aren't perfected yet so you would just find yourself buying another quad later down the road. Most boards that support dual-core support Quad core however. Still for now get an E6600 and overclock the **** out of it.
__________________

Sora is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 05:01 PM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: High End Cpu

No i mean quad sli (quad gpu's)
__________________

backup287 is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 05:09 PM   #23 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: High End Cpu

quad SLI has not been perfected
Sora is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 05:24 PM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: High End Cpu

**** i guess 8800 gtx's sli and an e6600, but wont the 6600 bottleneck the cards? and im also looking at this ram:Newegg.com - CORSAIR Dominator 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1111 (PC2 8888) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

its pretty fast anyone kno anything faster?
backup287 is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 05:29 PM   #25 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: High End Cpu

How will the Fastest CPU out bottleneck them? Also WOW those are good ram and the fastest clocked but OVERKILL and I will tell you why.


a Core 2 Duo works best at I believe 4-3-3-5. With a C2D you want Cas 4 ram with good timings after. Those dominators will easily Hit Cas 3 but that's not where you need to be. In the end I guess i'm saying the dominators are very very fast but cheaper ram will offer the same performance due to it doesnt matter. That's like having a 1000w PSU and then a 700w psu....you haven't taped all the power yet. Still I believe those dominator are the fastest out but it won't matter anyway.
Sora is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 05:32 PM   #26 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: High End Cpu

I think theres barely any bottleneck, between the e6600 and 8800GTXs. Overclocking will take care of this.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 05:48 PM   #27 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: High End Cpu

wat bout this sora?
Newegg.com - Kingston HyperX 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1200 (PC2 9600) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
backup287 is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 05:54 PM   #28 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: High End Cpu

Once again any of that ram will work but I'm telling you that it will be overkill since 100 cheaper ram will offer the same exact performance.
Sora is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 06:08 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default Re: High End Cpu

Here is a great set of ram:

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

They have d9 chips and will take the e6600 pretty far even if you had phase change cooling.

Two 8800gtx's would be pretty nice but overkill is an understatement with two 8800gtx's. But its your money, and your system would be future proof for a WHILE. Just make sure you get a 680i board and not a 650i board cause you want the best performance if your going all out. Also, an overclocked e6600 (even at stock) would not bottleneck two 8800gtx's.

Oh yeah i don't know if anyone mentioned after all this overclocking talk but make sure you get a good cpu cooler (like the scythe ninja or zalman 9500) with a tube of artic silver 5 for the best possible overclock (on air of course ).
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 06:16 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 805
Default Re: High End Cpu

i could go liquid cooling, wat do you guys suggest?
(am im a noob oc'er so i need a hella good liquid coolin)
__________________

backup287 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.